The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

The Challenge – Julia Child

Google Doodle

Julia Child was (is) an icon. That’s an understatement. I never knew her personally, but I’ve read that she was a woman who pushed herself, challenged herself.

I received one of her cookbooks as a wedding present years back. On occasion I would try a recipe, only to find myself challenged as a “home chef”. I have very little skills in the kitchen, especially in the area of cooking. Baking, I can handle that. When I saw the movie Julie and Julia, I began to drool. The food shown in that movie looked so good. I was inspired! I decided that, like Julie, I would try at least one of her recipes. I chose beef bourguignon. I’m not sure on a difficulty scale how her other recipes rate, but I was exhausted by the time I was done with this one! Not to mention completely surprised by the amount of wine needed.

Yet, despite the hard work, it truly was a delicious dish. I doubt I’ll ever make it again, but it was an experience, and again, something to challenge me.

I think through life, we all need little to big challenges to help us grow. Without them, we remain stagnant and, well, ultimately bored. I don’t know about you, but hate being bored. I hear it often from kids whining, “I’m bored.” Boredom can be dangerous, leading us into troublesome areas. What is that saying I’ve heard floating around? Idleness (or idle hands) is the devil’s workshop. Whether or not you believe in a devil, do you not agree that the lack of stimulation can tempt us to do things we ought not to do? With stimulation comes ideas and innovations.

My challenge next: Try to learn the tin whistle.

What will be your challenge?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 15, 2012 by in Daily Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,363 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 10,229 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
