The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

LPs, CDs, DVDs, Blu-Rays

There are times where I sit and think about how quickly our world has progressed, as least in the area of technology. My father has a large, no huge collection of vinyl records. Unfortunately, the amount he has takes up so much room, that he needs to liquidate some of them. Since he is not as technologically savvy, I’ve offered to help.

<insert groan here>

I didn’t think it would be such a huge undertaking to find the values of and sell these records. I’ve discovered that though there is a market for records, it mainly focuses on genres such as jazz and 60-70s artist, i.e. Beatles. This, of course, led me to the ultimate question: Why?

There is a ton of great music out there, but what type of person feels that LP is the most desired above CD? Is there a same group of people that prefer VHS over DVD or even Blu-Ray?

So here I sit, staring over the sea of Benny Goodman, Glenn Miller, Tommy Dorsey records and wonder: what am I going to do with all of these? I’ve contact record stores, none which are interested. I’ve posted them for sale online and have even tried Ebay. I’m stuck….stuck will well over 1-2,00 records.

Ugh.

I cringed to think of the day when I will have to take care of my father’s trains or my father-in-laws collectible figures.

Any thoughts? Suggestions? Are you in a similar situation?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 17, 2012 by in Daily Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,361 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 10,931 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
