The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

The Military, The War, The Sacrifice of a Soldier

I hate fighting. I especially hate when the weaker in the fight is overpowered, taken advantage of or the fight is just plain unfair. It has always bothered me, from way back in Kindergarten to the present. I hate seeing it in my life, I hate seeing it in the news. It even bugs me when I see it on screen.

So, that said, I hate war. And really, I doubt there are many out there that truly care for it. War brings destruction of buildings, lives, families, civilizations, humanity. It brings out the worst in everyone.

I remember watching a movie (may have been ‘300’), when the enemy took over the city and raped the women, killed the children. That really bugged me. A friend of my had said that not all men are like that, but I disagreed. I told him, depending on what side, how one was raised, anyone could end up like that. I don’t believe people are inherently good. Just the opposite. Perhaps that is the pessimist in me.

At any rate, I have great respect for those that defend others. Whether it is on the playground or on a battlefield for one’s country, I think it takes a great man or woman to put their life on the line for others. Yet, despite this respect, I had never acted on it.

So today, I’ve made the decision to do something about it. No….I’m not joining the Army 🙂   But I am going to send my love, admiration and support to those who are currently defending the country I reside in and who are serving to help protect others that are being taken advantage of. War sucks, but it sucks even more if you are in it and have no support from your homeland.

Despite your beliefs, whether you protest the war or not, it does no good to protest the soldier. It merely hurts the man or woman who sacrificed so much. Like my mamma always said, “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.”

0 comments on “The Military, The War, The Sacrifice of a Soldier

  1. notsofancynancy
    August 25, 2012

    Well said!

    Like

  2. frawgsdill
    August 26, 2012

    Much respect to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2012 by in Daily Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,354 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,316 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
