The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

My Thoughts…only thoughts

So, for the past month, while I had been busy with work, I’ve also been thinking about the Series 2 last episode of Sherlock. Sherlock fakes his death, but how?

It was bothering me how Moriarty kept saying “I owe you.” Then, the viewer would see I.O.U. what…three times at least? So, it got me thinking. It sounds like he’s referring to the letters and not the words I owe you. If I were one of the writers for Sherlock, I’d want something fun, a cipher if you will, involving Moriarty. What if his I.O.U. stood for Iodine, Oxygen and Uranium. In turn, what if these stood for their number equivalent on the period table (53, 8, 92)? Now, you might be saying, “Yeah, that’s old news.” Well, it wasn’t for me and I hadn’t read about it before. After having this thought, I’ve found at least one or two people who’ve come up with the same thought. Nice to see I’m not the only one obsessed. 🙂

So what about the numbers? How does that help with Sherlock’s death? It doesn’t, not really. The numbers correspond to (in my opinion again) Grimm Fairy Tales from the book left by Moriarty: Snow White, The Strange Musician, and the King of the Golden Mountain. Yes, admittedly, I read those stories.

I must say, the writers should feel good about how appealing Sherlock is. It has encouraged so many to explore, read and learn! In fact, I’ve read not only the fairy tales, I’ve also read the Memoirs of the Bow Street Runners and The Private Life of Sherlock Holmes (Vincent Starrett). The later book, I read because of the blog number being stuck on 1895. I wasn’t aware of the poem:

221B

Here dwell together still two men of note

Who never lived and so can never die:

How very near they seem, yet how remote

That age before the world went all awry.

But still the game’s afoot for those with ears

Attuned to catch the distant view-halloo:

England is England yet, for all our fears–

Only those things the heart believes are true.

A yellow fog swirls past the window-pane

As night descends upon this fabled street:

A lonely hansom splashes through the rain,

The ghostly gas lamps fail at twenty feet.

Here, though the world explode, these two survive,

And it is always eighteen ninety-five.

–Vincent Starrett

I digress! So, Moriarty leaves clues related to these tales. What does Sherlock do with these? How can he change everything to his advantage? By using the very same stories again his enemy.

My final thought: Sherlock faked his death, yes…we all know this. But how? Did he jump only a mattress, did a crane assist him, did he fall into the back of a truck. I know people won’t agree with me and, for quite some time I struggled with the thought. Honest? I think Sherlock simply fell and hit the ground. That’s it. No fancy method.

Moriarty: ” I knew you’d fall for it. That’s your weakness. You always want everything to be clever.”

Do I believe Molly and Mycroft were involved? Yes.

But I also believe that Sherlock was hurt in the fall. And, I believe that he may have had some “substance assistance” with his fall (snow white…anyone? Nah…) 🙂

I figured since everyone else was posting their theories, maybe I should post mine. Sorry it isn’t (ahem) clever.

Leave a Reply

Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,354 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,316 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
