The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Daily Prompt: Quote Me

Daily Prompt: Quote Me.

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

Funny, when I saw the first question, I immediately thought of the following quote:

“It is a very bad habit, one I find hard to break.”

Then, I read the second sentence. Uh, err…does it move me? Um, not really. I was first introduced to the quote when reading a book. The book is not important (grin), but the character was. He was similar to my most favorite fictional character, Sherlock Holmes. Though not Holmes exactly, he was close enough, yet modernized. I use the quote as an excuse, most often for my snarkiness. Yes, snarkiness is a word. Look it up in the dictionary…..um, the Urban dictionary. Still counts, right? Snarkiness is my cloak of protection, against those who would otherwise what to know the real me.

Of course, I try not to make excuses in life, especially at work. I do take responsibility for my actions and consequences.

So, using the quote, making such excuses is not typical of me. Why do I gravitate to it then? I suppose I find that sort of mindset freeing. I could never be that type of person, the one that doesn’t feel the binds of society. At times, I push myself, lose a bit of tact, but only for the benefit of those around me. I know, that sounds odd. The benefit of others? I’ll remind anyone who has read past posts the Lord of the Rings comment. I said what was on everyone’s mind. They were too afraid to truly vocalize it. It doesn’t happen all the time.

As a friend said once: I’m as blunt as a Buick hammering in a nail.

So…before you like my posts or Facebook page, follow my blog or add me as a friend in Goodreads, know that…..you’ve been warned. (insert wicked grin here)

4 comments on “Daily Prompt: Quote Me

  1. djmatticus
    January 4, 2013

    Bring on the snarkiness.

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      January 5, 2013

      Oh, its been broughten.

      Like

  2. seeker
    January 5, 2013

    I’m sorry to read about losing your friend.

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      January 5, 2013

      Thanks. I probably should write something about here on my blog. She died at a young age from colon cancer. I wouldn’t want that for anyone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2013 by in Daily Prompt, Daily Ramblings and tagged , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,356 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,190 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
