The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

DP: Sacrifice

Is there a single idea or definition that runs through all the varieties of “love”? (DP)

As soon as I saw this post, I immediately thought of sacrifice. For me, there is no greater expression of love. Some might roll their eyes and think, “Oh please, she must be talking about Jesus Christ and that sacrifice on the cross.” Blah blah blah. And their eyes gloss over, temporarily leaving the planet.   🙂

Though I might agree with the example, that wasn’t the thought I had in mind. Love is shown on a daily basis and, I fear, as time goes by, becomes less and less prevalent in our world. So, what sacrifices might I be referring to? I’m sure everyone has splendid examples.

-Emergency workers, especially those who are tired after working for hours on end, yet continue through.

-Nurses, who might be yelled at on a daily basis by both physician and patient alike, yet continue to provide care.

-Unsung heroes, the ones who help a vagrant seen on the corner. Or perhaps saving a stray animal from oncoming traffic. I remember doing that many years ago. It was Halloween night and a tabby cat had run out into an intersection. It may have been stupid (yeah, it was stupid), but I ran into the intersection as the lights turned red and “ushered” the cat to the side of the road. I promptly adopted him and brought him home. He became my dad’s favorite cat.

-Since Mother’s day is tomorrow, it is only fitting to mention their sacrifice. This should be one of the main examples of sacrifice. Daily, a mother might sacrifice sleep, the food on her plate, and the blanket that was keep her warm, all for the sake of her children. Do I speak from personal experience? Absolutely. But I’m not the only one that does this. 

 I know there exceptions to the rule and, sometimes there are some bad examples out there, but in this post I’m focusing on the positive.

Showing love isn’t solely for family or friends, but for everyone. Don’t limit yourself. You’ll lose out on the benefit of being kind, plus those wonderful endorphins! Besides, there may come a day when you might need a little bit of kindness (aka love) shown to you. 

So, if you find yourself at the grocery store, buying a week’s worth a groceries and a complete stranger comes into line behind you with only a few items.

What do you do?

 

6 comments on “DP: Sacrifice

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Love IS | My Daily Prompt Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is « Mama Bear Musings

  3. Pingback: Love Ain’t What It Used To Be | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: I want to know what love is… specially prepared for Mother’s Day! | 3rdculturechildren

  5. Pingback: Seeking, Hoping, Believing – Love #wordpress #photography #love | Moondustwriter's Blog

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt : I want to Know What Love Is | writinglikeastoner

Leave a Reply

Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,367 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,302 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

