The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Identify This Fly Attracting Flower!

I am calling on the help of flower enthusiasts everywhere. Would anyone be able to identify this plant?

431938_10201058151831497_504515560_n

 

I ask because, though it is a healthy plant with almost plumeria-esque flowers, it attracts flies. I’m not talking one or two flies, it is quiet a bit more than that. My husband suggested planting the Venus Fly Trap (Dionaea muscipula) next to it.  It sounds like a good idea, except that I have Little Shop of Horrors in the back of my mind. The last thing I need is Rick Moranis singing in my backyard.  😉

If you have no idea, but know of someone who might, please feel free to share this. 

2 comments on “Identify This Fly Attracting Flower!

  1. Mia @ The Muses Circle
    July 12, 2013

    Hi Elizabeth!

    First, I want to thank you for stopping by my blog and entering my giveaway. I apologize I am just getting around to stopping by and saying hello! That is so funny you are thinking about planting a Venus fly trap. I teach and we just ordered a carnivorous plant habitat for the classroom! Can’t wait to set it up and get the kids talking about it. And I absolutely love Little Shop of Horrors lol! “Feed me, Seymour!”

    I really wish I had time to read your novel Second on the Right. I am a huge fan of fairytales, legends, folklore so when I saw your novel was sort of a retelling of Peter Pan, I became intrigued. I’m going to add it to my to-read pile and promise if I ever get around to reading it, I will let you know. I am almost booked up until October!

    Anyway, I hope you are having a great weekend!

    Best Wishes,
    Mia @ TheMusesCircle
    http://themusescircle.blogspot.com/

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      July 13, 2013

      Thanks for stopping by!

      I still haven’t figured out the name of my plant. If I do, I’ll let you know. It might attract plenty of food for the Venus fly trap and keep it nice and healthy!

      I am currently “polishing” Second on the Right. I had a LOT of fun writing it, as Captain Hook is one of my favorite fictional characters. This was an idea that had been churning in my head for years, only to recently be put down in writing. My hope is to have it all ready to go by January 2014. I will contact you closer to that time when I’ve fixed it up, if you’d like to give it a read. If you’re a Pan fan, eh, you might not care for the story. But if you’re a Hook fan, well… 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,367 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,302 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

