The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Mini Goal: Water,Water, WATER!!

Some of us hate water. Personally speaking, I drink a venti sized cup of water at least three times a day. But when I’m sick and my throat is scratchy, I absolutely hate the taste and feel of water. I need alternatives.

In order to stay hydrated, both during my day, during my workout, or during sick days, I’ve done the following to trick or encourage the consumption of the recommended eight cups of water a day.

  • pick a larger cup rather than a small cup. Sometime like the venti I noted above or a “big gulp” sized cup is a good option.
  • keep your water close by. I keep my on my desk as I work. I find myself reaching for it while working, without even thinking of the action. Very quickly, my cup is empty and I’m up to refill it.
  • with or with lemon? I cannot stand the taste of lemon in water, but I know this does help those who cannot stand the taste of tap or filtered water. We are all different. If it works for you, great! I’ve read that it helps with weight loss, but who really knows. As long as it helps increase the amount of water consumed during the day, its all good.
  • filtered vs tap? Some swear tap water tastes horrible (too much chlorine or chemical taste). If this is the case, try filtered water. I say filtered rather than bottled water because of this: consider the amount of water you are attempting to drink in a given day. How many bottles will you go through? Yes, they are recyclable, but its still CRV money out of your pocket. The purchase of one cup and a filtration system and you’re good to go.
  • Mio, Crystal Light, Fizzies, Kool-Aid: Here is the alternative for those that can’t stand lemon in there water. Each of the products mentioned, I have tried. The only flavor of Crystal Light that I care for is the lemonade. Kool-Aid’s fruit punch is okay. They have other flavors that I haven’t tried, such as grape and orange. Fizzies provides a soda alternative, with flavors like root beer, I get a fizzie sode-like taste. Finally, Mio, which I’m currently using, has fruit punch, sweet tea, berry pomegranate and lots more. I like the fruit punch. The sweet tea is okay. I’ve used fruit punch and berry pomegranate with Arrowhead’s sparkling water. For fans of soda, it isn’t an exact alternative, but it gives a sweet fruity flavor with a nice fizz. When trying to avoid empty calories, this is a great option for me.
  • iced vs hot? I’ve read articles that claimed drinking hot water with unsweetened tea or with lemon promotes weight loss. I’ve also read drinking iced water pushes your metabolism to increase in order to warm up the water, which in turn promotes weight loss. I don’t believe either claim. Iced or hot, its really your preference. Mine? Typically iced.
  • unsweetened tea: I love coffee and I love tea. I could be happy with either. Obviously, unsweetened tea saves on calories and provides another option for consuming water. Keep in mind though, for caffeinated beverages, be sure to put in an equal amount of decaffeinated liquid as you to caffeinated in order to prevent dehydration.

Those are my tips on what I do in a typical week to help keep up with drinking water. I like to change it up so as not to get bored.

Leave a Reply

Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,363 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 10,874 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader