The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Soundtracks

darkman

Years ago, I was on a plane with my fellow classmates….band members actually. We were headed for Orlando, Florida to participate in a marching band competition. Whether we had any hope of winning, it didn’t really matter. The trip was packed full of sightseeing, including trips to Epcot center and MGM studies (at the time). As exciting as it was, I was still struggling with my illness. I was lucky enough to experience both Strep throat and Mononucleosis. That being said, most of the trip I spent in quarantine, i.e. a few seats away from my classmates. 

During the flight, I had grown bored. I noticed a Senior band member pursuing a case full of cassette tapes. When I asked about them, he showed me that most of them were movie soundtracks. At that point in my life, I had listened to rock, big band, classical, but never had I explored listening to soundtracks, and by soundtracks I mean film scores. He offered a cassette tape in a black covered case. On the front was the familiar bat symbol from the Tim Burton Batman movie. After inserting the tape into my player, I pressed play and leaned back in my seat. Suddenly, my friends, passengers, the plane…all of it melted away as the soundtrack infused my ears, penetrating my thoughts. What a wonderful feeling it was to get lost in the music! After a while, he asked for the tape back. Reluctantly, I ejected it from the player. I had wanted to listen to it repeatedly on the flight. I was pleasantly surprised when he offered a chance to look for another tape. I selected Darkman next, followed by Dick Tracy…and continued on from there.

That was only the beginning…my first taste for soundtrack music. I still love classical, as well as a variety of other music, but my true love will always be film scores. If you haven’t had the pleasure of listening to any, you’re missing out! In the next several weeks, I’ll share with you top composers and the scores I feel deserve special attention. If you have any favorites, I welcome the comments. I’m always looking for new scores.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2014 by in Music.
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,363 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 10,247 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
