The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Happy National Library Week

NLW14_Blume_728x90

National Library Week 2014

April 13-19, 2014

Lives change @AtYourLibrary: celebrate National Library Week April 13-19

For me, it’s @LACountyLibrary.

This week, join libraries in schools, campuses and communities nationwide in celebrating National Library Week, a time to highlight the value of libraries, librarians and library workers.

Libraries today are more than repositories for books and other resources. Often the heart of their communities, campuses or schools, libraries are deeply committed to the places where their patrons live, work and study.  Libraries are trusted places where everyone in the community can gather to reconnect and reengage with each other to enrich and shape the community and address local issues.

Librarians work with elected officials, small business owners, students and the public at large to discover what their communities needs are and meet them.  Whether through offering e-books and technology classes, materials for English-language learners, programs for job seekers or those to support early literacy, librarians listen to the community they serve, and they respond.

“Service to the community has always been the focus of the library. While this aspect has never changed, libraries have grown and evolved in how they provide for the needs of every member of their community.” 

Check your local library’s celebration of National Library Week.

First sponsored in 1958, National Library Week is a national observance sponsored by the American Library Association (ALA) and libraries across the country each April.

How has the library changed your life?

  • Tweet about it: Hashtags: #NLW14 and #LivesChange
  • Snap a library selfie to tell your story
  • Use the speech bubble below

Kindle Fire giveaway during the National Library Week!

To be entered in the grand-prize drawing your text or photo library story must be posted to Twitter, Facebook or Flickr using the hashtags #LivesChange and #NLW14 or added to the @ your library story collection between 9:00 a.m. CDT Monday, April 14 and and noon CDT on Friday, April 18, 2014. See official rules here.

liveschange

Follow along during
National Library Week

Hashtags:
#NLW14 and #LivesChange

Twiitter At your library@ your library Twitter

Facebook At your library@ your library Facebook

Flickr At your libraryFlickr @ your library

Pinterest - At your ibrary@ your library Pinterest

Declaration for the Right to Libraries hashtag is#right2libs.


How the library has changed my life?

Growing up in the City of La Mirada there were lots of activities for kids to do: Swim at Biola, explore the creek in the city, run around the neighborhood, visit the library.

My top two favorites were swimming at Biola and spending hours in the library.

To this day, the reason I love bookstores is due to the smell of books. That Olfactory memory recalls times when I was a child. My parents would drop me off at the library where I would spend a good portion of the day (several hours +). I’d pulled up a small chair and sit next to a bookshelf. That way, once I was done reading, I could place the book back in its rightful spot and pickup a new one. Even now as an adult, I still love the sights, sounds and smells that hit me each time I step into the library. I want that experience for my children. So every week, whether on a Thursday evening or Saturday morning (or any day they were open), it didn’t matter: I’d make it a special trip. The library is a place to explore, find new books, and learn new things. My daughter is still too young to understand, but my son is amazed by the sheer number of books in one library alone.

When I introduced him to the librarian, he asked in surprise, “She can find any book I’m looking for?” To which I responded, “Or die trying”, eliciting a smile from the librarian. I’ve caught my son reading, crossed-legged on the floor, next to his favorite section of books. As the minutes pass, he places one book on the shelf and pulled out another to read. It’s nice to see the “tradition” carried on.

If you haven’t taken advantage of your local library, I encourage you to do so. It is not only a great place to find books, it’s great for study groups and tutoring. But for me, my life was changed just by sitting next to a shelf and reading one book after another. If I hadn’t done that, I might have missed out on some really great books.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2014 by in Books, Daily Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,363 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 10,874 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
