The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Not So Normal Teen Age Admiration

In my teen years, I honestly don’t remember who my friends had crushes on. I know some of them had magazines, and some of them had posters on their walls. I think one of them might have been Christian Slater??

At any rate, the celebrities I “admired” were nothing like those of my friends. And my list was often the subject of great teasing. So who did I admire in my teen years? There are so many, so I’ll pick two from my list to note here.

peter-cushing-the-mummy

Peter Cushing – what I liked about him, besides his acting, was his love for his wife. I had the pleasure of reading his autobiography, Peter Cushing: An Autobiography and Past Forgetting. I enjoyed it more than Basil Rathbone’s In and Out of Character.

John de Lancie – what can I say? Of all the characters from the Star Trek universe, it was Q that really captured my attention. In The Original Series, I liked William Campbell’s Trelane, so it made sense that Q would end up being my favorite. This was later solidified by Peter David’s book, Q-Squared. What does this have to do with de Lancie? Besides his brilliant portrayal of the character, John de Lancie has been involved with Alien Voices. If you haven’t had a listen, try Spoke vs Q or check their website for more titles.leonard-nimoy-john-de-lancie-alien-voices

While my friends were reading about the latest teen actors on screen, I was busy watching actors from black and whites or colorized movies of the 40s or 50s. My favorites became Gene Kelly, Olivia de Havilland, Donald O’Connor, Rita Hayworth, Basil Rathbone, Ingrid Bergman, Cary Grant, Errol Flynn… the list goes on and on. I’ve gotta say that I’m glad I was that way, otherwise, I would have missed out on some great movies. Now that I have children of my own, I’ve tried to show them some of the movies I had enjoyed. Their favorites are: Them!, The Monster That Challenged The World, It Came From Beneath The Sea, Tarantula, and Singing In The Rain.

One comment on “Not So Normal Teen Age Admiration

  1. Pingback: Not So Normal Teen Age Admiration | The Consulting Writer | sheknowsnews

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2014 by in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,369 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,349 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

