The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Monday Movie Moment: Pengwins…Penglins…Penguins?

penguins2

I know, I know…I’m a little late on reviewing this movie. But it actually ties into my “Frugal Family” posts (you’ll see more each Wednesday). We call it the “cheapie” theater, but really it’s a movie theater that shows movies for $1-2 per person. Back in the day, I remember when it was 50 cents.

My kids had already seen Penguins with some friends, but because of its recent arrival in this theater, we wanted to make a family outing of it. A family of four to see a movie for a total of $4? Unheard of!

My review of the movie as I saw it:

The Madagascar movies have never been my favorite. At most, I’d rate them a solid “meh”. And though my kids have enjoyed watching them, I don’t think we’ve rewatched them nearly as much as other Dreamworks movies such as Shrek, Puss In Boots or Megamind. With Penguins, I was expecting a little more, but not by much. Yeah, they’re cute and slightly amusing in their military-esq moves. And each character offers his own brand of humor, from Skipper’s blind confidence to Rico’s disgusting yet often helpful storage abilities. They provide enough amusing moments to get through the movie.

And yes, as my husband would prod me to say, it helped having Cumerbatch voice the wolf, aka “Classified”. I won’t bother explaining the name. See the movie.

But what really helped were the little jokes, comments, etc that really only the adults would catch. Octopus with names like Drew and Barry, Hugh and Jack, Kevin who bakes….perhaps you get it. “Drew! Barry! More power!” or “Hugh! Jack! Man that station.”

Still, even that wasn’t the funniest part of the movie, at least for me. What was? The scene where Dave, the villainous octopus, hacks into the North Wind’s computer/video link system to threaten the group. Dave is obviously older than any of the other characters, which is further emphasized when he needs the assistance of reading glasses to figure out the video link. Why? Because the North Wind can see his video, but the sound isn’t on.

Skipper: Debbie!

Kowalski: Dave!

Skipper: Dave.

Corporal: He hacked into our system.

[There’s no sound onscreen as Dave speaks]

Eva: Where’s the sound?

Everyone on both sides offers suggestions for tech support.

Corporal: Dave, your microphone, it’s not working.

Classified: Click on the button with the picture of the microphone.

Short Fuse: Every time a villain calls in, this happens.

Dave: Hello?

Dave pushes a few buttons and the video goes black, but they can now hear him.

Dave: Hello?

Corporal: But, now we can hear you.

Short Fuse: So annoying!

Corporal: But we cannot see.

Short Fuse: Every time!

Then “Classified”, the wolf, murmurs in the background, “It’s like talking to my parents.”

I lost it in a fit of laughter only to stop once I realized that I was probably the only one. Seriously? No one else found that hilarious?

My review of the movie as my 8 year old and 5 year old saw it:

Despite having previously seen it in the theater, they still enjoyed the movie. My son got into it, especially when the penguins made it to Shanghai only to think it was Ireland. My daughter giggled a lot. She really liked the octopus.

If you are confused by the title of my post, refer to this video: Cumberbatch saying penguins. He still had that problem in this movie, but really, who cares? Penguin, pengwing, pengling? With a voice like his, we can forgive these minor infractions on the English language. 😉

Monday Movie Moments will happen on fourth Monday of every month. Check back on February 23rd for the next movie moment.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 26, 2015 by in Monday Movie Moment and tagged , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,366 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 11,839 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

