The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Disney Days: Balloons!

As a Southern California local, I’ve had the pleasure of visiting Disneyland multiple times. One thing that always made me tired was not the day’s worth of walking, nor was it the long hours.  It was the gift shop. I don’t really enjoy shopping, because I like to think about my purchase before making it. I’ve learned that I often regret impulsive shopping, sometimes immediately after.

In order to prevent the same from happening with my kids, I’ve decided to try something different. Each time we visit, we label it a specific “day”, such as pin day, pen day, sticker day, etc. My brilliant mind came up with balloon day. I mean, how hard could it be to find a nice balloon at little cost, right?

Yeah, hindsight is 20/20. The next day,  I laughed at the thought. Disney and little cost do not go hand in hand. Balloon day, though my kids loved, was a shock to me. $14 for one balloon. Excuse me? Does it stay afloat forever? Staying true to my word, I bought a Baymax balloon for my son and a Mickey Mouse balloon for my daughter.

IMG_20150128_104818_506IMG_20150128_104829_390

IMG_20150128_104749_029

And now for my thoughts on each balloon…

First off, $14 is a ridiculous price for any balloon. Those will be the last balloons I ever buy at Disneyland.

Second, the Mickey balloon did not hold up nearly as well as the Baymax balloon. After one week, Mickey was sinking to the floor. After two weeks, it was dragging. Baymax? He’s still afloat at the ceiling.

My kids loved the balloons. They were large, and they had an LED light that changed colors. The light could be turned off to save the batteries. I hate waste, so when these balloons have had it and I can’t reinflate them (I’m going to try), at least I can replace the LED battery with a CR2032  button battery, which can be easily found in a local hardware or even pharmacy store.IMG_20150128_105020_200

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2015 by in Disney Days and tagged , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,354 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,340 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
