The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

At noon, the cloud clinging to the top of Cerro Gordo broke free and scattered.

“At noon, the cloud clinging to the top of Cerro Gordo broke free and scattered.”

I thought about quoting from the classics, Hamlet or perhaps Moby Dick? Naahhh….Though I enjoy Sherlock Holmes immensely, I do have a guilty favorite. Think Hound of the Baskervilles, only with more horror, I suppose.

I’m going to go with my favorite horror/thriller novel, Relic.

No, no, no!!! Not that Relic. That was a movie that was loosely based on the book…which I hate. The one good thing about it? It was my first movie with my future husband. Isn’t that romantic? Yes, I saw a horror movie as….well he calls it a first date. I still insist it was two coworkers going out to a movie…..where he paid for dinner and the movie….and gave me a ride there. Whatever, it wasn’t a date.

When I refer to Relic, I mean this one:

Relic

The beginning of the novel opens with an expedition and an explanation of a legend. By chapter 3, we are back in New York City! And a few chapters after that, introduction of the monster and our first death! Eventually, we are introduced to D’Agosta, who keeps me reading until Pendergast finally arrives. My book is worn from multiple readings.

Don’t get me wrong. I love the classics. My favorites include all of Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes stories, Hamlet, Tale of Two Cities, Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, Pride Prejudice and Zombies, The Walking Dead compendiums 1/2, Q-squared….wow, I seriously digressed from classics to…..new classics. 🙂

Ultimately, the reason I love Relic: It is an intelligent read, yet allows my brain to relax and have fun. My initial read was exciting, a monster loose in the museum. But as the chapters went on, we, the readers, discover it isn’t just a monster. Clues are left, stories are told. There is something more to it than just a mindless monster.

I love stories that have mystery in them. It forces my mind to work through the problem and the clue in order to come up with possible solutions. Obviously, this is why Sherlock is a favorite of mine…..and Pendergast….and Dr. House….and….

Uh, I’ll let you go……for now.

 

dp

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2015 by in Daily Prompt and tagged , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,361 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 10,931 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
