The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Review: The House of Silk

This review includes both the book and audiobook for The House of Silk, a Sherlock Holmes novel by Anthony Horowitz.silk

“Secretive. Confident. And thoroughly annoying.” Those were words uttered by John Watson after a trying ordeal involving Sherlock Holmes. While Watson seems to struggle in dealing with the after effects, Holmes, not surprisingly, has bounced back. The quote made me smile. As much as Watson cared for Holmes, at times he still grated on Watson’s nerves.

The story seemed basic at the beginning, but then it opened into something larger and deeper than either Holmes or Watson had anticipated. The clues, the characters and the final action scene, all helped make this a pleasurable read. I never thought I’d enjoy a Holmes novel other than those stories by Doyle, but I must admit that Horowitz has a good handle on the feel and the characters within the world of Sherlock Holmes.

If you are a fan of Sherlock Holmes, or should I say “classic” Sherlock Holmes, I highly recommended The House of Silk. I plan to move on to Moriarty, truly expecting the same Doyle-esq feel to that story as well. But that is a review for another time…

About the Narrator: Derek Jacobi

I have a fondness for Jacobi since the Cadfael television series and then in Branagh’s Hamlet (among many, many other works). So when I discovered that he had narrated this novel, I chose to stop midway reading and switched over to the audiobook to finish the story. I wasn’t disappointed! I loved having Jacobi read the novel and look forward to his narrating Moriarty.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 17, 2015 by in Books, Reviews and tagged , , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,357 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,082 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
