The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

C is for Cow, Their Tricks I Observed

Tricky Cows, err, Elephants

You may wonder why this post is entitled “C is for Cow” when these are clearly elephants in the picture. Bear with me, please. A lot of my stories have to do with my kids and the silly things they tend to do. But in this post, I’ll admit that I was just like them when I was little.

My aunt and uncle owned a farm with lots of cows that, at the time, I didn’t realize were raised for meat. Aren’t all cows dairy?

My parents had given me a camera for that trip. Excitedly, I went exploring. I loved walking around the farm. My two favorite places were the barn where the cows were and the dark areas of the silo. I can still smell the grain and recall the rickety ladder that I used to climb up to the top and peer down inside. Thankfully I never fell in.

On this particular day, I chose to visit the cows. They were all very active, moving about the barn. Much to my surprise and delight, they began to entertain me with tricks. Wow! I didn’t know they could do that. I was impressed that my uncle had such talented cows, that I chose to take pictures of them. After I finished my rounds, I headed back inside, excited to tell my parents and my aunt and uncle about the cows. I can only imagine what I’d said to them and their reaction.

“Mom, Dad…the cows are doing tricks in the barn! I took pictures of them,” I explained.

“Tricks?” my mom asked, glancing at my aunt. My aunt shrugged with a bemused expression. “What sort of tricks?”

“You know the elephants in the circus? They were doing tricks just like the elephants in the circus!”

“Oh, wow. Were they? Well, go have fun and play,” she responded.

As I disappeared from the room, the whole house filled with roars of laughter. Yeah, I get it NOW. But a little late. I can’t live it down. And my aunt makes sure just about every year at Christmas that I’m giving some sort of cow product (toy, towel, etc) to remind me of those tricky cows.

5 comments on “C is for Cow, Their Tricks I Observed

  1. I’m sorry, but that is funny. We’ve all had moments like that from our childhood. In hindsight, you can only laugh.

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Member of C. Lee’s Muffin Commando Squad
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      April 3, 2015

      Exactly! Hindsight certainly has helped me view negative stories in a more humorous light. I was embarrassed for years, thanks to the teasing from my relatives. I’m over it now and gladly except my yearly cow-themed present. If it was one of my kids that had done it? I’d laugh too.

      Like

  2. dwhirsch
    April 3, 2015

    That. Is. Hysterical. So glad you shared that!

    Like

  3. KAT Writer
    April 3, 2015

    I couldn’t imagine how you were going to get from cow’s to elephants. The visual was key to the story. So funny. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. emilia m.
    April 4, 2015

    thank you for the morning laugh!!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2015 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,356 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,190 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
