The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

E is for Eel, Shrieking Eel

Let me give you a little background on Brenda. She was someone that met a friend of ours through the army. Shortly after meeting her, she married our friend and, well, let’s just say our group wasn’t quick to welcome any newcomers. But eventually we did, and Brenda found her spot within our little “family”. Sadly, we’d only have so many years with her before colon cancer so rudely took her to heaven. We all still miss her and not a day goes by that we don’t think of her. But the pain and grief of her absence has lessened enough to allow us to remember her fondly. Yes, even giggling, hyperventilating and bursts of laughter. Thanks, Brenda. 😉


Brenda and the Shrieking Eel

We really enjoy having everyone come over and hang out. It’s always fun. On this particular night, we had decided to play Munchkin. This is the closest I’ll ever get to D&D gaming. Right off the bat, I’m confused. Luckily, my side-kick (though she’d beg to differ), Brenda, was there to help me out.

pic150181_md

Apparently, one of the many rules of the game includes that each player can only hold, physically in their hand, five cards. No more than five cards. During the game, I inadvertently miscounted (honest!) and had six cards in my hand.

The new edition to our group, a girlfriend of one of the gang, said in a shrieking voice, “She has six cards! You aren’t supposed to have six cards!!”

Brenda knew me well, including my temper. When someone irks me, everyone usually gets (ahem) out of the way. Brenda helped me figure out what to do with the sixth card….that is to say, she helped me find a more polite and appropriate way to use the card. lol

So, the game is nearing an end. There are only a few players ahead, one of them being the shrieking eel who won’t stop shrieking.

Brenda, in a covert and gallant gesture, slips me an “ace” card under the table and I won the game… though it was more like “we” won the game together.

One comment on “E is for Eel, Shrieking Eel

  1. That’s a nice memory of your friend. I hope your win stopped the shrieking girl.

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Member of C. Lee’s Muffin Commando Squad
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 6, 2015 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,363 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 10,229 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
