The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

J is for June Bug, I Screamed and I Roared

Have you ever seen a beetle fly? I mean, like the green beetles or June bug beetles. They fly nearly blind, seeking light sources as their guide. I hate June, or even May. June-bug-holdin-on-1That’s when June bugs come out in full force. It isn’t that they are dangerous, unless you consider them running into you in mid-flight. It’s more of a gross annoyance. I don’t do well with bugs touching me. Their cool to learn about and look at….from a distance.

Imagine the scene: It’s a warm summer evening. July 3 to be exact. I’ve joined up with the local symphony and tonight is our 4th of July concert. We’re all excited. I’m excited. This is the first year I’ve come back as a brass player (trumpet) rather than woodwind. Trust me, woodwind isn’t the place you want to be when bugs are around. The brass section happened to be full of guys and they gather much enjoyment from catching and tossing bugs at the woodwind section.

Yep…it was nice to finally be in the back, away from the line of fire.

Our concert was going well. There were speakers, there were other activities. But it was the grand finale that everyone looked forward to. Fireworks! The time had come. The lights were turned off, so only the glow of our light stands could barely be seen in the dark. The fireworks started, and we played our hearts out. It was a blast!

The concert ended, the lights went up and we packed up our instruments. My mom gave me a ride home, so I sat back in the passenger’s seat. I’d been “on” the whole evening, so it was nice to finally relax. That’s when I felt it…

BUZZ

What was that?

BUZZ

There’s something in my hair.

BUZZ, BUZZ

Get it out, get it out!

Of course, my mom couldn’t help. She was stuck in traffic. I freaked, I screamed, I roared. I ripped the ponytail out and frantically brushed at my hair. Finally, my fingers grabbed hold of it. A June bug had taken up residence in my hair at the base of my neck. Gross! It buzzed again, it’s wings beating against my fingers in protest. I lost my grip. It burrowed back into my hair. Again, I dug it out. It buzzed again and again. Double gross!

Before PETA get’s on my case, I gently, but hastily, release him into the wild.

Afterwards, it was more of a nervous tick…was that another buzz?

What did my mom do while she sat behind the wheel of the car? Laugh.

3 comments on “J is for June Bug, I Screamed and I Roared

  1. melissasugarscriptcom
    April 11, 2015

    OMG, do we ever have June bugs in Louisiana? Huge flying beetles and not just in June. We just left a cabin on the lake and those suckers were buzzing all around me. We had horrible weather. Tornados were all around us, but our area was spared. We did lose internet, cell service and satellite for days . I’ve missed the past four days of blog posting for the challege. I hope people don’t think I dropped out . I was going to wait until I got home before leaving any comments, but I saw your June bug post and had to comment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Elizabeth Los
      April 13, 2015

      That sounds awful! It’s bad enough that they fly into you, but if they are twice the size (or more) than the ones out here, uh… There’s a reason I probably never will visit Australia.
      I’m glad you’re able to get back on the Internet. 🙂 I fell behind too, so I’m having to play catch up today. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. stephen tremp
    April 13, 2015

    I hate June bugs. The look far too much like cockroaches that I find on my spaceship.

    Stephen Tremp
    an A-Z Cohost
    @StephenTremp on Twitter

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2015 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,354 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,341 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
