The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

K is for Knuckles, Falling In Haste

My husband puts up with a lot when it comes to my bleeding heart. Usually, I’m the one picking the runt of the litter or bringing a sad case home. But this time it was my husband. Woo hoo! I’m off the hook.

fat-cat

Not Knuckles, but a close representation.

The cat was given to us by a co-worker of my husband’s. He’d actually rescued the cat (at the time a kitten) after seeing someone dump him on the side of the freeway. He was mostly white with some patches of grayish-brown. The guy named him Sinatra. Can you guess why? The kitten’s eyes were blue.

When we got him, the cat looked more like the one in this picture. The guy said they just had a newborn baby that they believed was allergic. So we took Sinatra in. But honestly, other than the blue eyes, the cat did not look like a Sinatra. You know what he looked like? Like a tough cat. A sweet one, but still, he could sit on you kinda tough.

So we started calling him Knuckles.

Knuckles stayed with us for a while, as we tried to find him a permanent home. We’d hoped to adopt him, but my other cat, Tigger, wouldn’t share his home. To say they “didn’t get along” was an understatement. Tigger bit him in the butt, causing an abscess. So we had to keep them separated. Tigger stayed downstairs. Knuckles stayed upstairs in the loft.

We’d visit him, play with him and love him. Then we’d head downstairs, putting up the barricade to protect him from psycho Tigger. Knuckles would run back up the stairs and jump onto the ledge of the loft to watch us as we headed down. He was a cool cat and so sweet. Just, very large.

One afternoon, my husband had finished feeding him and was heading downstairs. As usual, Knuckles sped up the stairs to the loft, jumping onto the ledge. Unfortunately, this time, he came in to hot. Knuckles skidded off the ledge, did a little flip that would make a gymnast envious and landed squarely on my husband’s head.

I’m sorry. Give me a moment. Even now, I’m cracking up as I write this. Just, the sight of this large cat, hurling down and practically knocking my husband unconscioues still elicits giggle fits in me. For the record, between the giggles, I did ask if he was ok.

*deep breath*

Okay, so like I said, my husband was nearly knocked out. He fell back on the stairs, but his head made a good landing for the cat. So Knuckles wasn’t seriously hurt. My husband was more hurt by my laughing than anything else. Although he did say it felt like a ten pound bag of potatoes fell on him. heh

*deep breath*

We did find Knuckles a permanent home, but he will forever be in our hearts, and in my giggles, as the cat that nearly knocked out my husband. And that’s why I think “Knuckles” was a perfect name for him.

K

5 comments on “K is for Knuckles, Falling In Haste

  1. *snickers* That is a funny story.

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Member of C. Lee’s Muffin Commando Squad
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

    Like

  2. Liz Brownlee
    April 13, 2015

    Really, there is nothing about seeing your husband go for a tumble that isn’t funny. Isn’t that curious? My mum was pregnant when my dad was painting the walls in their new house. They didn’t have a ladder so he was on top of a tea chest – a thin wooden box that tea used to be shipped in. He called my mum in to admire what he had done, and at that moment the top caved in and he landed on his feet, now inside the box. That was when he had to take her to the hospital to have me! ~Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2015 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,363 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 10,874 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
