The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

L is for Lion Cake, I Beat Into Paste

The lion cake…

For our friends, this is one of those stories we’ll always remember.

It had been a “tradition” of sorts, that I’d make a special cake for birthdays. One time it was a termite cake with oozing vanilla pudding in the abdomen.  Then there was the eyeball cake complete with veins and optic nerve in the back. Another time, it was the kitty litter cake, which was later revised post-Christmas with added tinsel in the tootsie rolls. My snowball cake was based on the Jack Frost and Jack Frost 2 seriously bad horror movies. And finally, the dishwasher cake that depicted a dishwasher in battle with G.I. Joes. I do have pictures, but perhaps I’ll save that for the next A to Z challenge. 😉

On this night, it was my husband’s birthday. Oh, the possibilities! Wrong. Though I wanted to make a cake, I was told that a cake was being provided by a newer add-ee of the group. *sigh* The cake arrived, a kid’s cake of a jungle scene complete with a little lion in the corner. While the group was in the living room, I stood in the kitchen. The cake was before me on the counter. The knife was in my hand. I froze. I was annoyed, to say the least. *I* wanted to make the cake for my husband. But no. *She* had to bring one in, one that was meant for kids, not a 30-something guy. And my husband! As you can see, my temper was getting the better of me.

So there I stood, knife still in hand. One of our friends came into the kitchen. I have no idea what he thought when he saw me, but surely he knew I was angry. And here is what he did…

He came up behind me and gave me a big hug.

Then he gripped my wrist of the hand holding the knife….

And with all his force and speed, proceeded to pulverize the cake toppings.

After it was done, we both looked at the messed up cake. The lion had completely disappeared in the green frosting. Bits of cake had flown onto the counter and on the floor. It took a minute, or maybe only a few seconds, before we burst out laughing and he asked, “Feel better?” Yes, actually. Much.

Scream into a pillow or beat the snot out of a cake. It’s all good. 😉


Now that my story is done, allow me to share with you some “nailed it” pictures that at times throws me into a fit of giggles.

gs5ww-lamb-cake hilarious-pinterest-fails-21

L

3 comments on “L is for Lion Cake, I Beat Into Paste

  1. OMG Those pics are too funny. Your story was too, although, I feel bad for the poor cake. It wasn’t its fault. LOL

    Like

  2. Stephen Tremp
    April 14, 2015

    Who says you shouldn’t play with your food~

    Hello, stopping in from A to Z and thanks for your continued participation!

    Stephen Tremp
    A to Z Cohost
    L is for Lucid Dreaming

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      April 16, 2015

      Thanks so much for stopping by! Playing with my food is one of my favorite activities. I’ve been known to make an awesome chocolate pudding volcano.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2015 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,366 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 11,838 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

