The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

M is for Muddled, My Brain Was Dreading

Have you ever noticed there are different kinds of  drunk?

  • The depressed
  • The sleepy
  • The bitter

Quarks_BarBut did you know there is another? I discovered that while at a conference in Las Vegas. It was while on break, not during a workshop or anything!

I was with a co-worker. We both decided to give the hotel restaurant a try. Since the Hilton was Star Trek themed, so was the restaurant/bar, known as Quark’s Bar. Alas, it is no longer there. Too bad, ’cause it was kinda fun to look around.

We were having lunch there, when my co-worker asked if I wanted to try the Borg’s Sphere. It was an alcoholic drink containing the following:

  • 4.5 oz vodka
  • 3 oz white rum (i.e. Bacardi Superior or any other non-flavored clear rum)
  • 3 oz melon liquer (Midori is the most common brand but there are others)
  • 1.5 oz gin
  • sweet & sour mix (common bar mixer found in any store)
  • Sprite (can also use 7up or Sierra Mist)VGP1010996

My review: It was okay, but not something I’d want again. Still, it was something different to try, so we shared it. I think we’d gotten maybe halfway down. I bent down to retrieve my wallet. When I sat up, the room was spinning a bit. A lightweight? Yep. I don’t care for alcohol. I don’t usually drink it. So it wasn’t a surprise that I’d had that reaction. Logically, responsibly, I chose to stop. My co-worker decided to do the same.

We payed our bill, abandoned the drink and left the restaurant to find seats in the hallway. The next workshop wasn’t set to start for another thirty minutes or so. To kill time, I decided to call my husband. Boy was the a bad idea. Something in that drink and the way it mixed with my DNA, it literally sent me into giggle fits. I could hardly talk on the phone, I was laughing so much. Of course, my husband was really amused by the conversation.

So add “giggly” to that list.


 

Funny-memes-get-drunk-and-pass-out-on-the-beach

M

6 comments on “M is for Muddled, My Brain Was Dreading

  1. lucciagray
    April 15, 2015

    Wonderful picture! I bet you enjoyed the workshop 🙂

    Like

  2. That sounds like an interesting drink. I get talkative, hungry, and sleepy when I drink.

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Member of C. Lee’s Muffin Commando Squad
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

    Like

  3. msugar13
    April 15, 2015

    Cool looking drink. Is it on fire? I get happy and talkative, or if I am in a bad mood, I can get the worst kind of drunk, the feel sorry for myself weepy, and cry baby. That’s why I avoid getting drunk. The giggling drunk is fun though.

    Melissa
    http://fictiontoolbox.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      April 16, 2015

      I believe they used dry ice to give that illusion. It was a sweet drink, literally. Whatever fluffy, frilly alcohol they used had loads of sugar in it. So was I giggly from the alcohol or sugar high? Nobody knows…
      Sure, giggling is fun to others! But for me, when control over my emotions and actions is imperative, I felt like a moron later. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2015 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,356 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,181 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
