The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

R is for Run, Right Into a Wall

?????????????????????Fight or flight…ever hear that?

It’s a natural, instinctive response built into all of us. Every creature on this Earth has that instinct. Keep that in mind with this story.

I was with my friends, my husband and my brother-in-law. It was October, late at night. We’d bought tickets to attend the Halloween Haunt at Knott’s Scary Farm (aka Knott’s Berry Farm). If you like being scared multiple times in a variety of ways, this is the place for you. Personally, I’ve stopped going because it went from jump scares to “how can we gross you out the most”. No thanks, not for me.

If you aren’t familiar with the event, Knott’s sets up up several mazes throughout the park. Each one features a theme to walk through where staff are dressed as monsters or such and jump out to scare you. As you walk through Camp Snoopy (no kids at this time), you might chuckle at the distant sound of screams, only to be startled by staff skidding on their hands and knees towards you from out of the fog.

One maze that we all seemed to gravitate towards was the vampire maze. This was after the Interview With a Vampire, but well before Twilight. The first portion of the maze was a large sitting parlor in grayish hues with “vampires” lounging about but not really interested in us. Our group took the same approach to every maze. One brave soul would lead the group and the rest would follow in single file, one hand on each shoulder. I guess it must have looked kinda like a conga line.

We hadn’t gone too far in the maze. My friend had gripped my shoulder a bit more tightly than I was comfortable with. I had turn to adjust her grip, when I came face to face with the vampire that was holding onto me. That’s where the fight or flight instinct first kicked in. I ran. And as I ran, a large darkly cloaked grim reaper jumped out from the right. So I turned left to run…

…into the black painted wall that blended into the darkness.

Like a cartoon character, I slowly slid to the floor. I was temporarily stunned. In the midst of laughing, I heard my friend ask if I was ok. The “vampires” behind me were giving high fives. The rest of the group? Oh, they’d abandoned us. They had gone through the maze, never realizing that I’d lost my grip in so many ways.

R

2 comments on “R is for Run, Right Into a Wall

  1. stephen tremp
    April 21, 2015

    I was lost in a corn maze and abducted by a group of inbred hillbillies once. Talk about an ironic twist of fate.

    Stephen Tremp
    A to Z Co-host
    R is for Reincarnation

    Like

  2. That would have scared me too. I probably wouldn’t have gone to something like that. I’m such a wuss and scare way to easily.

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Member of C. Lee’s Muffin Commando Squad
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2015 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,367 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,302 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

