The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

T is for Tech Support, Please Get It Right

techsupport

I received a phone call, the kind that I dread: tech support needed. *sigh* I have a hard time saying no and letting the person figure it out, so I do my best to help. Issues have ranged from virus or malware problems to software updates needed.

“A message came up on the screen.”

“Okay, what does it say?”

“It’s a 4 x 4, no more like a 4 x 6 inch gray, uh, dark gray square. On the top is a blue rectangle that says “Security Warning”. In the gray box it says “Do you want to run this application?” There’s a yellow shield type shape with an exclamation point in the center of it.”

I open my mouth to speak, but am interrupted.

“In a darkish green or teal color, it says ‘Do you want to allow the following program to make changes to this computer?’ Then there’s an orange square on the left hand side with what looks like a coffee cup with steam.”

“Oh, right. It’s Java. Probably needs an update.”

“Yeah. Then it says Program name. jucheck.exe. Underneath that, it says Verified publisher. Oracle America, Inc. And under that it says File origin. Hard drive on this computer.”

“It just needs to update Java. Click on ‘ok’ so it can run through the update.”

“Right. Uh, ok. So then at the bottom is a little back arrow pointing down on the left side and next to that it says show details. Do I want to click on that? Do we need details?”

“No.”

“Ok. And on the right is yes or no.”

“Click on yes.”

“Sure, sure. But underneath that it says ‘change when these notifications appear’.”

“You don’t have to do that right now. Just click on yes.”

“Ok. Click on yes?”

“Correct.”

“Ok, I’m clicking on yes. Unless I shouldn’t.”

*sigh*


And just to share the pain and humor of what I experience on a daily basis (and no, I don’t get paid for these moments), these scenes from two animated flicks make me chuckle every time.

The wolf from the NorthWind in the Penguin movie…Classified’s comment “It’s like talking to my parents.”


Just as Flint Lockwood reacted to it in Cloudy with a Change of Meatballs:

Flint: “Drag it!”
Dad: “Drag it?”
Flint: “Drag it!”
Dad: “Drag it?
Flint: “Drag it across the desktop!”
Dad: “Wha…?” [drags mouse across top of the desk, knocking everyone on the floor] “That didn’t do anything!”
Flint: “Of course not! You know what? Aaaughhh!!!!”

T

One comment on “T is for Tech Support, Please Get It Right

  1. My boss at the day job is always calling me in to help with her computer problems. Which are usually things like changing line spacing in Word from double to single, or when her tab lock gets turned off. I just laugh, fix then go back to work.

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Member of C. Lee’s Muffin Commando Squad
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2015 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,367 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,302 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

