The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

U is for Unsew, I Fail At Clothes

 

A_Tired_SeamstressSewing is not my thing. I just wanted to get that out up front. It’s not that I don’t value the skill. But I certainly don’t enjoy it. In fact, I detest sewing.

When I was younger, I made attempts. Why? Because my mother is a lifelong seamstress. She taught me what she knew, which was a lot. But I just didn’t enjoy it.

So imagine one late night, I’d rather be in bed, but have to stay up. I’d entered an apron into the local county fair and, as my parents so strongly have instilled in me, followed through on that promise. That isn’t to say that the desire to make good on my promise was inherent. On the contrary, I would have been happy to give up and go to sleep. But my mom pushed me to finish the project.

Not only did she have me finish the apron, but there were pockets, TWO pockets in it. Sure, that might not seem like a big deal, except that she was a perfectionist that insisted the pattern on the apron needed to match up to the pattern on the pockets. It took sooooooooooooooooooooo long.

Have I mentioned I hate sewing?

She took a picture of me, lying on the floor, the apron seemingly choking the life out of me. Yeah, dramatic. And no, I will not post that picture!

I can’t imagine what my mom thought that night. I know she was amused by my whining, my drama, my tears for sleep that before would have been tears going to bed. But I am glad that she pushed me to finish it. It taught me to not only complete the projects I start, but to follow through when I give my word and do it to the best of my ability.

Oh, and if you grew up with a mom that loved to sew, no doubt you’ve experienced the cookie tin of disappointment.

funny-Royal-Dansk-box-sewing

U

4 comments on “U is for Unsew, I Fail At Clothes

  1. I never learned to sew. My mom had a sewing machine, but she never let me use it. I’ve done a little on my own, but it’s nothing fancy and more a quick and dirty job to get it done.

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Member of C. Lee’s Muffin Commando Squad
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

    Like

  2. williamleeone
    April 24, 2015

    Love the cookie tin!

    Like

  3. msugar13
    April 24, 2015

    I never learned to dee, either. It might be because my mom never sewed. She is a wonderful mom, but was never a homemaker and thus, none of learned the basic of keeping a home until we moved out. I always wanted to sew. My college roommate could make the most amazing clothes and she always sewed our party costumes from a pattern. She made it seem so easy, which I know it is not.

    Melissa Sugar
    Twitter @msugar13
    Sugarlaw13@live.com
    http://fictiontoolbox.blogspot.com

    Like

  4. hilarymb
    April 27, 2015

    Hi Elizabeth … I did learn to sew … but cannot craft, and can’t wear so many materials that unless it was cotton and simple .. I fluffed out too. My mother was pretty good.

    I finally found you – going to G+ really stresses me to chase to find the blog .. still 2nd look today I found you … tomorrow there’s a map answering your question from my V for vocabulary post …

    Cheers HIlary

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2015 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,366 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 11,839 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

