The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

V is for Vicks, Up In The Nose

V is for Vicks…

vicks

…right up one nostril.

I was cleaning up a big mess. The smell was bad, incredibly bad. I knew, from experience, that Vicks is one of the best ways to prevent hurling because of smells such as vomit and feces. I already had gloves on that were contaminated. I felt the heaving hit my stomach. Quick as I could, I called out to my husband for help. “Put Vicks in my nose!” I was in a hurry, I’ll just say that as my excuse for saying to put Vicks in my nose rather than under it.

What does he do? He scoops a big wad with his pinky finger and jams it up one nostril. Ack!

It stopped my heaving, but Vicks up the nose is NOT pleasant. In my husband’s defense, I did ask for it, literally. But come on! Who puts Vicks IN the nose?

V

6 comments on “V is for Vicks, Up In The Nose

  1. mistermcgoo
    April 25, 2015

    Reblogged this on mistermcgoo.

    Like

  2. This story made me cringe. I suppose Vics up the nose is better than hurling though.

    Like

  3. msugar13
    April 25, 2015

    Yuck. But, I can attest from personal experience that Vick’s at the bottom of your nostrils is very effective. Every time I’ve been the duty district attorney on a homicide case, I’ve benefit from a thick slab of Vick’s right under my nose with a tiny amount inside my nose. I’m sure that having it all the way up your nose can’t be very pleasant, but can be better than the alternative.

    Melissa Sugar
    Twitter: @msugar13
    Sugarlaw13@live.com
    http://fictiontoolbox.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      April 25, 2015

      Absolutely. I mean, it was more than “a bit much”, but considering what I was working with (and the fact that I was starting to dry heave), it was the best, quick solution and worked as I knew it would.
      My husband still says to this day, “Well, you told me to do it!” Technically. yes. *sigh*

      Like

  4. kimlhine
    April 27, 2015

    As a child, the mother would always do that to me when I had a cold, works a treat,

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2015 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,363 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 10,874 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
