The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

W is for Whine, uh, Wine…wait, what did I say?

beef bourguignonAfter watching Julie & Julia, I felt inspired to try cooking myself. Well, something more challenging than a box of mac n’ cheese. So I chose a dish called “beef bourguignon”. I printed out the recipe, went to the store, and purchased all of the ingredients. Because I’m clueless when it comes to all things alcohol, it took me a bit of research before I finally chose the wine.

Note: I did not cry before, during or after the making of this dish. (see the movie)

It was a long and arduous process, but I’ve gotta say that I loved it in the end. I was exhausted, but beef bourguignon tasted so good! Just look at the picture. Yum! By the way, there is a vegan alternative bourguignon recipe.

Did you know that the recipe calls for a full, entire, bottle of wine? I didn’t!

My family came over and we all enjoyed a nice meal together. So what was so funny about this particular meal? My father-in-law’s comment (because of the amount of wine needed in the recipe):

“It just gets better and better with each helping.” *hic*

W

9 comments on “W is for Whine, uh, Wine…wait, what did I say?

  1. That does look yummy.
    I don’t cook as much as I used to. Mostly because that’s what I do at the day job and by the time I get home and it’s dinner time, I do not want to make food. I want to be served!

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Member of C. Lee’s Muffin Commando Squad
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      April 27, 2015

      I wouldn’t blame anyone for feeling that way if they worked in food service.

      It was definitely yummy and an adventure to make. I’m often too busy too cook. I’ve discovered I really love to cook and to garden.

      Like

  2. christinarose
    April 27, 2015

    Y.U.M.

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      April 29, 2015

      I’m not a fan of wine, really, but this was good!

      Like

      • christinarose
        April 29, 2015

        I’ve seen this dish made so many times and it looks absolutely amazing. Definitely on my list of things to attempt! 🙂

        Like

        • Elizabeth Los
          April 29, 2015

          It’s just a lot of prep and work. I ended up choosing a blackberry wine, because I love blackberries. Yeah, probably makes wine aficionados cringe. It’s like how I choose my shampoo…by how good it smells.

          Like

          • christinarose
            April 29, 2015

            Nothing wrong with that!! I’m sure the berry flavor added an excellent touch!

            Like

  3. doreeweller
    April 29, 2015

    That’s funny. And I’m a vegetarian, so as I was reading your post, I thought, “That looks so good. Too bad I don’t eat meat anymore.” And then you restored my faith in all things by telling me there’s a vegan version. I can’t imagine it tastes as good as the meaty version, but it’s good to know more about any dish that requires an entire bottle of wine. Just stopping by on my way through A to Z.

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      April 29, 2015

      lol, yeah…my eyes got really big when I was in the grocery store going over the ingredients. Probably should have reviewed it ahead of time. But I committed, I gave my word I’d do it.
      I do think the recipe relies a lot on the juices from the meat mixing with the wine. But I also realize that vegan recipes are great too. I haven’t tried this one yet. But I’m *really* curious about ratatouille after seeing the animated film.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 27, 2015 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,361 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 10,931 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
