The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Y is for Yuk, What’s That In His Mouth?

Before I had a family, including kids, I would spend time taking my niece and nephew out to places like the museum. On one particular occasion, I’d taken my nephew to McDonald’s so he could play. At that time, I had borrowed my dad’s truck. It needed an oil change so I figured I’d do both. I dropped off the truck and asked that we be taken to the McDonald’s down the street. No problem!mcd

Miles

Yeah, there was a slight one. The auto place had said once the truck was done that they’d pick us up and bring us back so we could go home. But after waiting (and my nephew playing) at McDonald’s for nearly three hours, it became tiresome. There would be no ride.

I packed up our things and, along with my nephew who was maybe five or six at the time, we headed down the street to get the truck and go home. It was a warm day and the walk a long one. In fact, looking over our journey, I’ve realized that it was nearly a 2 mile walk. For me alone, that wouldn’t have been a problem. With my nephew? Problem. Only a few steps into the walk and he was already complaining. I hoisted him up onto my back in piggyback ride style and continued on down the street. Halfway to our destination, I stopped at a store. We were both red from the heat. I wasn’t worried about me so much as him. So I purchased water and we guzzled it down before continuing on.

Up on my back, he still complained…about the heat, about the distance, about life in general. At one point, he whined that we were “gonna die”. I rolled my eyes and kept trudging along with the added weight on my back. I was exhausted by the time we reached the truck. Buckled in and safety underway with the air conditioner running full blast, we both breathed a sigh of relief. While I took in more water, he sat in the back finishing up the rest of his hamburger.

By the time we’d arrived home he was asleep. Poor little guy. They always look so sweet when they’re sleeping. I carried him in the house and placed him in bed so he could continue his nap more comfortably. I was about to turn away when I noticed something white protruding at the corner of his mouth. Frowning in confusion, I knelt down and, with great care not to wake him, I gently pried open his mouth. Suddenly this log, this mashed up chunk of bun, hamburger and cheese came popping out of him, like lancing a boil or popping a zit (yuk). Disgusting? Absolutely. Keep in mind, this was WAY before I’d ever had kids. My nephew had apparently fallen asleep mid-bite. Now, as a parent, the horrors of choking come to mind, but at that time? All I could think of was “kids are gross”, forgetting that I once was one.

Y

4 comments on “Y is for Yuk, What’s That In His Mouth?

  1. doreeweller
    April 29, 2015

    Lol. Kids are gross. Dogs are gross. Husbands are gross. I guess the best things in life are.

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      April 29, 2015

      And nature’s dirty! Fortunately, that hasn’t stopped my kids. It cracks me up to see the concern my daughter has for even the smallest of creatures. When I garden, she gathers up the worms so they can be together with their family.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That is the gross tale. Yuk.

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Member of C. Lee’s Muffin Commando Squad
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

    Like

  3. Paula Kaye
    May 15, 2015

    Yep, kids are gross!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 29, 2015 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,356 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,630 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
