The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

A to Z Reflections

A-to-Z+Reflection+[2015]+-+Lg

I made it through the A to Z challenge!

What did you think of the “Healing Laughter” theme?

We all know what life can throw at us. And if you don’t, if you are too young, give it time. It’s tough to keep a stiff upper lip, to smile despite the emotional pain (or physical pain). And when it happens day after day, seemingly unrelenting, it can be even more of a challenge.

What do I do? Well, when I can…and believe me, I still struggle to remember this…I try to view it in a positive light. What has this situation done for me, taught me? How can I turn it from a bad to a good thing? The stories posted could have bothered me, and some of them actually did until something happened to completely change my view. That is the important thing to remember. I can’t let the actions or words of others change my mood, feelings or the way I live my life.

I’m my own worst critic. Are you there as well with yourself? The negative thoughts that churn in my head are unending. Should I listen to them? We know the obvious answer, but the truth is, there are days when I do. My goal for anyone that struggles with this is to fight, ignore and break away from negative thinking.survivor-atoz [2015] - 2

You may not want to except your situation, physical limitations or attributes. You don’t have to be ok with it, but you also don’t have to hate yourself for it. I do and I need to stop. This A to Z challenge has reminded me of some great times, little moments that got me giggling and when I was done I felt so good!

Not every moment will make me laugh. But in those moments when it comes, I need to take advantage and thoroughly enjoy those times. Laughter truly is the best medicine, uplifting our spirits while lowering our blood pressure and stress hormones like cortisol (Neuroendocrine and stress hormone changes during mirthful laughter). I’ve read in studies that there is a link to raised stress hormones and weight gain. Grreeaaat….

I’ve learned through the years that I weigh life’s importance by the time spent with family and friends, not by the things I have or the places I’ve been. Find what is important to you, build on it. There will always be stress, but we can reduce the effects it can have on our bodies. We can’t control situations in our life. Things happen that are usually out of our control. The take away?

Don’t let stress get the best of you.

stress

 

7 comments on “A to Z Reflections

  1. msugar13
    May 3, 2015

    You have an amazingly positive and realistic outlook and I hope I can learn from your wisdom. Too often, I let the words, feelings and/or actions of others dictate or at a minimum, affect my mood. It is always the negative comment of someone I care deeply about, like my mother, husband or one of my kids that has this kind of power over me. All of my siblings (I have four sisters and had five brothers, only one of my brothers is still living) but my siblings, mainly my sisters and I have all struggled to deal with negative comments from our mother. We are adults and we realize that we should not be bothered by her opinion and we shouldn’t feel such an intense need for her approval. Knowing it and taking action toward correcting it are two very different things. I have been working for a long time on this and have only recently realized, exactly what your reflection post says: I can’t let the actions or words of another change my mood. It is easier said than done, but I have come a really long way. I finally realize that I can’t control the actions and behaviors of other people, I can only control my reaction to it.

    I think you have a very healthy attitude and I firmly believe that laughter is good medicine.

    Melissa Sugar
    Twitter: @msugar13
    sugarlaw13@live.com
    http://fictiontoolbox.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      May 3, 2015

      What a sweet post. Thanks! I seem positive now, but there are times that I slip. Honestly, I view myself as very pessimistic. It’s something I constantly struggle with. There are times that I too allow the people around me to change my moods/feelings. I need to remind myself that I can’t control them (as you said), I can only control how I react to them. If someone does something against me, it only gives them power if I can’t be Elsa and “let it go”. Definitely easier said than done!

      Like

  2. Mary B
    May 11, 2015

    Congrats on completing the A to Z Challenge! Looking forward to next year! See you on the Road Trip!

    Mary @ Jingle Jangle Jungle

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      May 11, 2015

      Thanks for stopping by. It was fun, so I would love to do it again. 🙂

      Like

  3. Somali K Chakrabarti
    May 17, 2015

    Hello Elizabeth, Congratulations on completing the A to Z Challenge. Your theme Healing Laughter reflects a positive attitude. I agree it is very difficult to be level headed in tough times, but whining doesn’t improve things either. So inspirational thoughts and laughter definitely has a healing effect. Keep writing such beautiful posts. 🙂

    Somali

    Like

  4. Hello there.
    Congratulations on completing the challenge! Just meandering through from the Road Trip.

    Entrepreneurial Goddess

    Like

  5. Random Musings
    May 25, 2015

    Loving your theme 🙂 I think it’s really interesting seeing what everyone chose for their themes!
    Popping by on the A to Z Road Trip
    Debbie
    http://www.myrandommusings.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2015 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,366 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 11,838 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

