The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Strange and Norrell! So Excited!

I’ve heard people compare the story of Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell to that of Harry Potter. Please do not think that these two are anywhere near related or similar. It couldn’t be further from the truth. As I read from one comment: the one thing we might consider they have in common is their “Englishness”. So true.

The feel of this story is quite different and it really splits readers down the middle: those that loved it and those that hated it (okay, maybe also those that wanted to love it, but hated it from sheer boredom). Well, I was in the “loved it” category. The writing, reminiscent of the Victorian age, alone caught my attention. Does that mean I’m a Dickens nerd as I’ve read some use the term. Pfftt. Nerd, no. Enthusiast? Possibly. Definitely a fan.

For those of you who couldn’t get through the book, the BBC has finally released the Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell mini-series. I was a little disappointed to hear that it’s already begun airing in the UK, but was quickly delighted to learn that it will air in the US on June 13th. But be warned. If you felt the story, the book, was slow, you might feel the same about the series.

However, I am looking forward to seeing how close their adaptation is. In the following clip, you’ll find Mr. Norrell, Jonathan Strange and Arabella, Viniculus, Lady Pole, and even The Gentleman (the man with the thistle down hair). Are you looking forward to this series? Have you already started watching it? Let me know what you think!

4 comments on “Strange and Norrell! So Excited!

  1. Christina Rose
    May 19, 2015

    Oooooh!!! I have had this book sitting on my shelf for ages!! Might have to move it up on my “to read” list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Elizabeth Los
      May 20, 2015

      Goodluck! It’s a long book, but for me it was well worth it. I love stories that have a handful of characters, each with their own mini story, to see them all come together at the end is fun.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kokay
    May 20, 2015

    It was a long book but after the last page I felt it wasn’t enough! I really hope Susanna Clarke do a follow up of her world! The tv series was amazing! Nothing quite like it in tv today! 🙂 You’ll love the first episode!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Elizabeth Los
      May 21, 2015

      I’m so happy to hear this! I agree that the story could keep going.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2015 by in Books and tagged , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,369 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,349 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

