The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

International Authors’ Day

IAD

Hosted by B00k R3vi3ws.


Great authors aren’t all located in one area on Earth. There isn’t one country that reigns supreme over others when it comes to writing. Authors, throughout the world, bring to us new experiences, new ways of thinking and new, amazing stories. Celebrate with us as we review our favorite authors, books and how we enjoy reading that great book.

Anyone who knows me won’t be surprised when I say my favorite books are Sir Author Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes series. I can’t just pick one! Following Sherlock Holmes, my second favorite book is Relic by co-authors Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. What I’ve learned from reading their Pendergast books? If authors reveal too much of a character, it may take the mystery and, in my opinion, fun out of reading about that character. For example, if Doyle had chosen to every facet of Holmes’ life, including childhood, relationship with his family, etc., I might have grown weary of the character. Or maybe not…  🙂

Regardless of the favorite book or author, what I truly love is getting lost in a book. When the book has me on the edge of my seat and nearly falling off of it, that is a good book. When the story causes me to stop reading for fear my favorite character will die, that is a good book. If the novel causes me to talk day and night, to every living soul I run across, about it, that  is a good book.

What are your favorite reading habits?

Obviously, I’ll read just about anywhere. And with two kids, that time to read can be far and few in between. I’ve been known to read while waiting in the doctor’s office or sitting with my kids while they play video games. If I can spare my attention, I’ll read. I prefer paper books, but ebooks work great at the last minute.

My idea reading habit? Out by the pool with a good book and gentle breeze. Or next to the fireside, flickering flames to provide light and warm, with a nice hot cup of English Breakfast nearby.

What about you?

Come celebrate International Authors’ Day by joining in the discussion and visiting other blogs who have also joined in the celebration!


 Giveaway for International Authors’ Daysotr cover small

a Rafflecopter giveaway

rafflecopter


So many great blogs that are participating!

1. DDS @ b00k r3vi3ws (Host)
2. Lexie @ Murray of Letho
3. flahertylandscape
4. Lynn’s Corner
5. Emily-Ann Walsh
6. Lindsay Edmunds
7. Kishan @levyingkishan
8. IntrospectivePress
9. Landscape story?
10. Purba Chakraborty
11. Linda S. Prather
12. Stephanie@ 100 Pages A Day
13. Readaholic Zone
14. 4covert2overt A Place in The Spotlight
15. The Bridge of Deaths
16. Defining Ways
17. HL Carpenter
18. Andrea Buginsky, Author
19. The Book Cellar
20. Confessions Of A Reader
21. Emily Ann Ward
22. Lora Palmer
23. Kim Golden
24. Deb Atwood
25. Deal Sharing Aunt
26. Buffy’s Ramblings
27. J.D.R. Hawkins
28. Kritika @ So Many books, So little time
29. Claudette Alexander
30. Shree Janani @ Book and Ink
31. R. P. Wollbaum, Author
32. Rupali Rajopadhye Rotti
33. Romila
34. Njkinny @ Njkinny’s World of Books & Stuff
35. Natural Bri
36. Leigh Anderson Romance
37. MJ Summers
38. Zoe Forward
39. Paula M @ Her Book Thoughts!
40. Two Americans in China
41. Privy Trifles
42. Annemarie @ Child of Destiny The Series
43. A Leisure Moment
44. The ToiBox of words
45. Ruty @ReadingDreaming
46. Words, Light, and Sound
47. Mazzy @ Obsessed by Books
48. Marilou George
49. Lynda Kaye Frazier
50. The Consulting Writer
51. Taffey Tawanna Champion
52. Susan Oleksiw
53. Jenny Bynum
54. Lauren @ Northern Plunder
55. On Ecology–Kenneth Grahame
56. Argyle Dollhaus
57. Isla Grey
58. Paul Hewlett

 

7 comments on “International Authors’ Day

  1. I’m an ereader in a recliner.

    I love Doyle’s Holmes first and foremost, but I always enjoy Sherlock in film, television and fan-fiction, also.

    Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Elizabeth Los
      July 15, 2015

      I’d actually written fan-fiction Sherlock, just once to see how it felt. But I couldn’t bring myself to write for the original Holmes of the 1800s. I wrote for the Holmes of the 21st century. Maybe some day I’ll day to explore the Victorian era.

      Like

  2. robertlampros
    July 14, 2015

    Hi, Consulting Writer,
    You sound like a genuine book lover. Good post for the Authors’ Day blog hop. I never read any of the Sherlock Holmes books, although I enjoyed the film version of The Hound of the Baskerville’s—one of my dad’s favorites as well. I think that is the first book in the Sherlock series, I’ll have to read it someday. Have a blessed day and happy reading. – Robert

    Liked by 1 person

    • Elizabeth Los
      July 15, 2015

      A Study In Scarlet was the first book, where Watson is introduced to Holmes for the first time. That being said, I know its been done countless times in film, tv and such, but I love The Hound of the Baskervilles. 🙂

      Like

  3. bn100
    July 16, 2015

    Jane Austen

    Liked by 1 person

  4. chancelet
    July 17, 2015

    So many authors, it can be very difficult to choose favorites, especially when tastes change. But there are usually some who stand the test of time. It’s good to meet so many readers and writers in this blog hop. Nancy’s Blog

    Like

  5. Claudette Alexander
    July 17, 2015

    You should make the fonts on your site a bit bigger. It’s hard to read such fine prints

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2015 by in Books, Daily Ramblings, Giveaway and tagged , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,356 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,181 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
