The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Rossini’s The Barber of Seville

Rossini’s The Barber of Seville

It seems whenever The Barber of Seville comes on I can’t help whistling or singing to it (thanks to Bugs Bunny). Sadly, I’ve never seen the actual opera.

Gioachino Rossini comes from a family of musicians. No doubt this helped teach and encourage him to become a musician as well. He wrote his first piece at the age of 20. He’s no Mozart (who composed his first piece at the age of 5, touring by the age of 6). Still, I can’t say I’ve accomplished much and 20 past me already. No doubt, The Barber of Seville is his most notable piece.

Rossini was buried in Paris’ Père Lachaise cemetery close to the graves of Chopin, Bellini, and Cherubini, but eventually his grave was moved to Santa Croce, Florence, and was supposedly attended by more than 6,000 people.

If it sounds familiar to you, and you’re part of my generation, here’s why:

Thanks to cartoons such as these, I was introduced to classical music and learned to appreciate it at a young age.

One comment on “Rossini’s The Barber of Seville

  1. kurtnemes
    August 17, 2015

    Love this post. My musical tastes were shaped by Bugs Bunny cartoons and especially this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2015 by in Daily Ramblings, Music and tagged , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,367 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,302 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

