The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

To go to conference or…go for coffee

That is the question 🙂

I was invited to join a group on Facebook, the OC Christian Writers’ Conference. Yay! It’s nice to be part of a group such as this one.

But I’ve hesitated on attending the conference that’s coming up in April. Why? Because the one book I wrote wasn’t as successful as I’d hoped, I still have a lot of work to do if I’m ever to become a good writer and the novels I’m currently working on aren’t in the “Christian” category. While part of me wants to go out of curiosity, or to simply meet people in that industry, the other part of me is saying I don’t belong. At least, not yet.

My friend is willing to go along with me. She sees something in my writing that I definitely do not see. So the question comes down to whether I can justify the cost of going. I’m sure any writer can understand. Investing in one’s self? That requires having a lot of confidence in my abilities.

One comment on “To go to conference or…go for coffee

  1. Rebecca LuElla Miller
    March 30, 2016

    My first conference every, I went to answer the questions you bring up. Was I a writer? Did I belong? I even had to ask, what kind of writing should I do? Conferences are the right places to ask those questions, and this one is remarkably reasonable. For one, there’s no room and board or travel expense to speak of. 😉

    Becky

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2016 by in Daily Ramblings, Writing and tagged , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,357 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,082 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
