The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

D is for Did Anyone Drool

SciFiConven3

If you’re just tuning in, I highly recommend starting with A (the beginning of the story)


“Did anyone drool over that little bit? The behind-the-scenes juicy details?” The host asked. “Are you ready to talk the talent?”

 

The crowd cheered. Their voices grew louder as Karl smiled and looked down in embarrassment. Finally, the host cleared his throat and waved for the room to settle down.

 

“Before we start, the cast, or crew rather, of Mercy Terminal want to thank you for your support of the show. And I’d like to thank you all for attending the panel. Q&A is now open. Those who would like to participate may line up behind the mics.”

 

A long line had already formed in both aisles of the large conference room. Most of it consisted of women between thirty and fifty years of age. A majority were dressed in elaborate cosplay. Each took their turn to ask a question, hoping to find that one unique question that would make an impression, even if only a brief one, with the beloved Dr. Wilkins.

 

A tall woman stood dressed in a tight, but well fitted uniform, an amazing replica of those on board Hermes 7. Karl immediately recognized the type: detail oriented, a stickler for accuracy. Not to mention attractive, as far as he was concerned.

 

“In episode 5 of series 2, Mr. Mitchell, you stated the patient was in pain, yet it clearly showed that only a saline drip was given. The patient never received medication, but suddenly was relieved of said pain. And in episode 9 of series 3, that same patient was seen again, yet had a terminal disease in that other episode. How do you account for that?”

 

Karl shrugged. “Bad editing?”

 

As he anticipated, chuckles rippled through the crowd.

 

With arms open in surrender, he continued, “In all sincerity, that was roughly thirty years ago. So unfortunately, I can’t recall that specific scene in order to answer your question. But I do appreciate your attention to detail. It’s admirable. Well done.”c
She nodded, smiled and quickly returned to her seat.

5 comments on “D is for Did Anyone Drool

  1. melissasugarscriptcom
    April 5, 2016

    Hi, I just stopped by from the challenge to say hi, but I can see that I’m going to have to go back to letter A so I can follow along and enjoy your story. I made a list of all the blogs I wanted to visit during the challenge and yours is on my list. I should have been more organized and separated my list into sub categories by theme reveal or themes that required me to follow from the beginning. I was traveling the first day of the challenge so I’ve been playing catch up ever since. I’m off to read letter A. Oh, and my Word Press log in info is not accurate ( I’m really batting 1000 here huh), I created it last year so I could comment on WP blogs during the challenge and I think all I did was make things more confusing. Sorry about that.

    Melissa Sugar
    Sugarlaw13@live.com
    http://melissasugarwrites.com
    Twitter @msugar13

    Like

  2. Li @ Flash Fiction
    April 6, 2016

    LOL my son used to drive me nuts picking apart plots and pointing out wrong details. I tend to use TV and movies as tension relief, so I don’t get hung up on those things. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Elizabeth Los
      April 6, 2016

      lol, life’s too short, right? I like detail, but I’m fine with dismissing it just to sit back and allow my brain a short vacation (which is a rarity).

      I’ve always wondered what goes through an actor’s mind when a fan asks about such detail?

      Like

  3. ahtdoucette
    April 27, 2016

    Hahaha, yes there’s always at least one in the crowd. Bane of writer’s existence I’m sure. 🙂 By the way I caught a discontinuity between stories – kidding! Fun idea for A-Z, will try to come back later for more. Peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2016 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings, Writing and tagged , , , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,357 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,082 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
