The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Silliness Ensues

Nearly every evening, my daughter has asked, sometimes begged, for me to play Super Mario 3D with her. As much as I want to say “I’ve got a lot of work to do around the house” or “I’m just too busy”, I know that this opportunity won’t be good forever. In fact, in a few short years, I doubt it will be offered. I might be the one pleading with her to spend time together.

So I ignore my screaming inner self. The one that says “what about the laundry piling up, the dishes, the grass that’s nearly a foot high?” It kills me to ignore that voice. For me, playing games is a complete waste of my time. So I pass a level. So what? I still have my work to do. I’d rather get it done, then have the rest of the day free.

But she’s my little girl and she won’t be that way for long. Of course, I say yes. And you know what? It’s actually fun, once I allow myself to push aside my thoughts and worries.

Mario can be a frustrating game. Ensuring your character jumps from one spot to another without falling, getting hurt, dying…while at the same time gathering as many coins and stars as possible. Ugh. I hate it. Yet, she’s delighted when we receive a magic bell that transforms our characters into cats so we can climb walls.mario cat

Yesterday was no different. We’d played a few levels multiple times before passing them. Then we entered one that was nearly impossible without team work. Is there a lesson to be learned? Quiet you, brain. No lesson. Just fun. 🙂

The idea of the level was that ever time you jumped, the platform would switch or move. I should say ANY TIME you jumped, the platforms would flip between red and blue. So if one character jumped onto a platform and then the other jumped, the first one could potentially fall. What was the result when playing with a 6 year old? Near frustration.

mario platform

When my son decided to help us? First my daughter jumps, then my son. Each attempt to get higher only results in the other falling back down. Over and over and over and over…it happens until we are in giggle fits and getting nowhere.

Did we pass the level?

Nope!

But we sure had fun!

Moral of the story, at least for me, is to take time with family and friends. The chores can wait. The silliness only comes around so often. Take it when you can!

DP

2 comments on “Silliness Ensues

  1. randombitsoftrialanderror
    April 14, 2016

    Those years go by so fast! Sounds like a wonderful time.

    Like

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 13 -“Let Your Passions Take Your Breath Away” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2016 by in Daily Ramblings, Funny and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,357 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,082 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
