The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Frustrated with the Introvert

I’ve seen videos and posts over and over again: anxiety and the introvert. The introvert desires seclusion, to be a recluse away from the worries and stresses of society.

CWlogo

This post will probably sound harsh and insensitive, so let me say right now that I’m not intending to at all sound mean. I’m simply confused.

While I can sympathize with those individuals and do my best to be understanding and supportive, the question remains:  Who takes their responsibilities?

Is the introvert, the anxious individual, allowed a free pass to avoid stress? Posts I’ve seen seem to give permission to accept that the anxiety is real (which it is) and leave them alone until they need you. Perhaps I’m misunderstanding?

What of the supportive group? The people who are there for anxious introvert? Where are they in all of this?

They are overwhelmed.

They shoulder the burdens of their own, PLUS those they are supporting.

They pull their weight, and more, in order to keep things afloat.

I suffer from anxiety, from stress, from being overwhelmed at every turn (who doesn’t?)…but not in a way that I’d consider it a disorder. Sometimes I suffer in silence. More often I have mini-meltdowns. I consider it a release, like a 2.5 earthquake rather than a 9.0. There are times I need to scream and shout. Thankfully, these haven’t happened at the local grocery store, but rather in my home.

What keeps me going? Knowing that if, at any moment, I give up, for me…

  1. I’ll feel like a complete failure and I HATE that feeling.
  2. I’ll be failing my family and friends, and I’d rather die than fail them.
  3. I’d be taking the lazy or easy way out. Nothing I’ve ever accomplished that I was proud of was easy.

Is there a solution? If I take time, step back and take in a HUGE, DEEP breath, hopefully I’ll gain some clarity. The best time I’m able to do that is on my knees.

Why is it so hard for me to ask for help? To ask for guidance? Am I afraid that He won’t sympathize with me? That He’ll roll His eyes and think, “Honestly, there are more important things in this world to worry about than whether the laundry is caught up or the landscaping is done”. Sadly, He’d be right.

Despite feeling used and overwhelmed, I need to continually remind myself that I have a lot to be thankful for.

What do you do when you begin to feel overwhelmed to the point of screaming?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2016 by in Daily Ramblings and tagged , , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,357 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,082 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
