The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

100 days, 100 Minutes…no, wait…maybe 45 minutes. Noooo…do I hear 30?

Or less?


I recently read a post, I think, on Spark People’s website. I love that website. It is a way to track nutrition and fitness…and it’s free! I love anything that’s “me” cheap, which is to say little or no cost. Spark People not only offers tracking, but also some informative articles to rethink the way I eat or exercise. There are videos for when I’m really busy and only have a few minutes at a time to get a workout in.


Okay…back to what I read. The author of the article had made a personal promise to exercise 100 minutes a day for 100 days. At first, I thought I could totally do that. Um…yeah, when exactly am I going to fit 100 MINUTES. That’s like…(does math for a sec)… an hour and forty minutes! Yiks. As a full-time working mom, with my second shift involving homework, dinner, swim lessons and dance lessons, not to mention cleaning the house, landscaping and so on….when do I find the time?


So I thought on it…and I thought on it. I started to really depress myself, already in the failure mindset because I couldn’t meet that goal. Why couldn’t I just tweak the goal, at least at the start? After 100 days, when it’s so ingrained in me, like breathing (sort of), then I could always start upping the goal. Right? Please say you agree. 🙂


So I thought, how about 45 days of 45 minutes? I’ve done 45 minute workouts easy. However, I haven’t done them on a daily basis. Usually only Monday-Friday. Weekends are terrible. And I’ve gotten out of the habit of getting up way early. I used to get up at 4:30 or 5 in the morning without a problem. But now? I like snuggling under my comfy T.A.R.D.I.S. blankie. Snooze button? Pfft. My subconscious knows the location of the OFF button. *sigh*


Okay, so if not 45 minutes on the weekends…what could I managed on Saturdays and Sundays? Despite that little negative voice in the back of my mind, I decided on 30 minutes. Want to join me? 30 minutes might not be so bad. It doesn’t have to be strenuous exercise. Just 30 minutes of walking, jogging, running, swimming…it’s our choice. 30 days of 30 minutes. That’s my goal.


Now let’s see if I can stick to it on the days when I’m overwhelmed, overworked and exhausted…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2016 by in Daily Ramblings, Funny, Health and tagged , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,354 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,340 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
