The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

U is for Unbelievable

If you’re just tuning in, I highly recommend starting with A (the beginning of the story)


Argue

“Unbelievable!” Karl snapped.

“What?” Crissa held a puzzled look.

“Look at all of this! Magazines, posters, cups, dishes. It’s garish. This isn’t Mercy Terminal. This is…is…that other show with the ridiculous light swords, furry co-pilots and angsty teen revenge. It’s ridiculous.”

Crissa pursed her lips, her face flushed a light shade of pink. “It’s not ridiculous. You were part of MT. You were the reason I watched. Well, you and the good writing.”

“I’m not part of it now, though I should be.”

“You know what,” she started, her eyes widening. “You are absolutely right. You should play Dr. Wilkins’ father. That would be so cool!”

“Pardon? His father?” Karl’s eyebrow raised, accompanied by a subtle frown.

“Oh yeah. All the shows are doing it now. They take an original actor and put them into the show somewhere for true fans to see. It’s so meta.”

“Meta? Is that English?”

She rolled her eyes. “Just trust me. It’s cool. You wanna call your agent?”

“What about all of this?” Karl waved his hand to the room.

She shrugged. “You’re free to come and go anytime you’d like. I just wanted you to feel appreciated and loved. But now…now you can go back to work, get some new roles like you wanted.”

“You don’t want me here?

“Karl, it isn’t like that. We had fun. But you aren’t a prisoner. I want you to have what you truly deserve.”

“Samuel!” he snapped. “My name is Samuel!”

Silence fell between them. Crissa’s face showed something he’d not seen before in her: fear. Why was she frightened of him when it was she who was ruining everything? She couldn’t even get his name right.

“Apologies,” he said with a slight bow. “If you’ll excuse me.” He left to dwell on his thoughts and to plan. He needed a plan.

3 comments on “U is for Unbelievable

  1. Betty Dmochowski Wooton
    April 25, 2016

    You have a good theme going for A/Z. I hope he does come up with a plan!

    betty
    http://viewsfrombenches.blogspot.com/

    Like

  2. paulakaye
    April 25, 2016

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I will go start with A to begin my reading!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2016 by in AtoZ, Daily Ramblings, Writing and tagged , , , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,367 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,302 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

