The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

The Silence

No, this isn’t another Doctor Who post… lol

I have been watching a lot of Classic DW as well as “NuWho” (I guess that’s a term). I’m slowly going through the old episodes, but to my surprise, I’m nearly done with Tennant’s run. I may have already seen these episodes once before, but at this point, I catch myself thinking “he’s done all ready?!”.

(ahem)

Yeah, this wasn’t supposed to be a Doctor Who post. I digress.

The reason for my silence (i.e. lack of posts) is this: I’ve been busy “doing it myself”. I like to stretch my knowledge and abilities from time to time.

Why not just pay to have someone do it for me?

Granted, it would be a lot easier, and possibly faster….oh, and less frustration, as well. Between working full-time, to raising two kids and taking care household chores, etc., it would make sense to have a professional come in and do it. Whatever the “it” happens to be that breaks down or stops working at the time.

But lately, I’ve found myself let down by professionals. I don’t need to tell you how extremely disappointing that can be, not just because of the costs to have them come out, but because the problem may not be entirely fixed.

It first started with using Sears’ technicians. My ice maker had stopped working. I had a technician come out three times. The first was somewhat helpful, but the problem persisted. The second tech that ended up here twice? He was no help whatsoever. Instead, he gave me excuse after excuse as to why it wasn’t working properly. I hate excuses. I don’t like giving them and I definitely don’t like hearing them.

“It’s hot outside and the refrigerator knows that, so it’ll slow down production,” he said during the first visit.

Seriously? I get that I’m a female….and a blonde on top of that. But to assume that I’m a complete moron? ggrrr

The second time out, I was planning on asking him to replace the ice maker. Except that this same technician gave me a song and dance, and was going to charge me more than the initial quote.

Pfft. I’ll figure it out myself. I was angry, felt cheated, disappointed and frustrated.

And iceless…I know, not a word.

As a girl, a chick, what could I possible do? Helpless little me. Well, we mom’s do have brains, so… I Googled it! And Youtubed it!

It was really a simple fix and now I have a TON of ice.

Let me tell you, that small victory was all I needed to put me on the DIY path!

Since then, I’ve unclogged a bathtub that a plumber couldn’t solve, fixed and now maintain a pool that the pool guy flaked on constantly. Sure, there will be things out of my element, but I’m willing to at least research and learn. Then, I can determine whether I’m capable of doing it myself.

From time to time, I go through trial and error. And sadly, I find myself talking to the inanimate object. Usually, it’s “I will conquer you.” And by God’s grace, I have.

Have you had that experience? Do you take care of it yourself? Have you ever been let down by a professional? What do you do with that?

4 comments on “The Silence

  1. paulaacton
    June 21, 2016

    I have to confess YouTube has become my new best friend, thank god for all those people out there that take the time to make tutorials for every thing we could ever need to know, this week I ended up watching one about making your own funkos using the basic blank model you can buy, okay I decided I do not have the talent to do it but there are people out there who know how to thank god for Etsy 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Elizabeth Los
      June 21, 2016

      Making your own funkos? lol, I definitely know my limitations. No way I’d even attempt that! I’ve tried Etsy, but that’s just not my thing, but you’re right. It is for a lot of people that are crafty with making your own. I am so grateful for those that take the time to post “how to” videos. It has truly saved me a lot of time, money and aggravation. Now if only there were a way I could repay them, or pay it forward by helping others.

      Like

      • paulaacton
        June 21, 2016

        I only discovered the whole making your own Funko’s thing when I was chatting online to another author and she was waiting for hers to be delivered, she had had one made of her main character from her series of books, she posted photos of it once it arrived and I have to say it looked fantastic, it was pretty pricey especially given customs demanded extra money but certainly something I would consider looking into at a later date, she has hers made for decorating her table at signings

        Like

  2. Finding your blog for the first time on the Summer road trip. I am glad for the incentive to keep finding blogs beyond April. Congratulations on staying active with your posts. I am just finishing up a series of June Posts on summertime while growing up and how to recapture some of those moment this summer. Hope you have time to spend a few minutes and read some of them to gauge what the blog can be about. See you on the road this summer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2016 by in Daily Ramblings and tagged , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,366 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 11,923 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

