The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Remember the days….

Sometimes I wonder if I baby my kids too much. I remember reading, or listening, to stories of past generations that had to walk to school (miles and miles in the SNOW, heh) or take the bus, if they were lucky. Now? We, the parents, hold our child’s hand and walk them to the door of their classroom a lot of the times. Is it more for us than for them? In my case, I’d say it’s 50/50. I like having the peace of mind that they are safely in their class with their teacher. At the same time, they feel confident going into the classroom, knowing that I’m there to see them in and will be there when they finish the day.

Still, I wonder if it benefits them or hinders them. Having struggles in life isn’t necessarily a bad thing. For me, it’s pushed me farther, made me stronger. So am I robbing my kids of this opportunity? What I see is that each successive generation does something to “make up” for whatever they lacked growing up. If someone had little in the way of clothes or toys, I’ve often seen them lavish their kids with what they couldn’t have as kids. This isn’t a hard and fast rule. It’s just something I’ve seen a lot lately.

I worry that I do the same with my kids. I remember begging to go to amusement parks. For my kids? It isn’t as big of a deal as it was for me, simply because I’ve taken them too often, in my opinion. It isn’t special anymore.

So that might be the “bad” side of it. But the good?

I’d learned growing up that I had more of an appreciation for things if I earned them myself. So, on my good days, I strive to push my children to earn, save and earn more. I’ve discovered that they suddenly become more discerning of the toys they truly want. And when they spend their money on a toy they think they really want, only to find that it wasn’t that great after all, I do my best to resist the urge to “make up” for their loss. Loss hurts, but it also helps. I want to save them from the pain  and frustration, but that is precisely what they need in order to grow.

That said, I still do little things in the hopes of reminding them of how much I love them. Here are today’s comics. Not sure how long I’ll be able to keep this up!

Charizard MewTwo

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 18, 2016 by in art, Daily Ramblings and tagged , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,363 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 10,874 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
