The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

The Eyes of Midnight

Eyes are the first thing I look at when meeting someone. Without really much thought, in seconds my brain has noted the color, shape and expression. I’ve heard this is true with most first impressions. The eyes, then the mouth.

I found a quote that reminded me of exactly what I think of when viewing someone’s eyes for the first time. This quote was taken from brainyquote.com, so I cannot exactly attest to the accurate of said quote, but I like it all the same.

There is a saying, ‘Eyes are the windows to the soul.’ It means, mostly, people can see through someone else by eye contact in seven seconds. I have a habit that if I meet someone I don’t know, I’d like to look at her or his eyes on purpose. When my eyes lay on them, I can immediately see their true color. Peng Liyuan  

Eyes are extremely expressive. So the question I have is: can eyes still express an emotion, however slight, on a deadpan/expressionless face? If someone wanted to hide their thoughts or reactions, can it be done completely in front of a more observant individual? If one were to keep a straight face, would the eyes follow or are they harder to control?

In my own experience, I think they are difficult to manage. My face may be unreadable, but I might not give eye contact if I fear risk of my true thoughts and emotions being revealed.

Doctors Eyes

A subtle flick of the eyebrow, squint of the lid, those little movements can carry so much meaning. So what do these eyes convey?

DP

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 19, 2016 by in art, Daily Prompt and tagged , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,366 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 11,838 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

