The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

An Opinion? How dare you have one!

Book Illustration Depicting Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson in a Train CabinThe first character I’d ever found a true attachment for was Sherlock Holmes. I’ve admitted as much in previous posts. I’m happy to defend my reasons for liking both the character and the stories. I enjoy discussions about Holmes with other fans who share my interest.

Unfortunately, today wasn’t one of those days. For that, I’m truly disappointed in the Sherlock fandom.

Why is it that whenever we express our opinions, we are often attacked?

If I were to post that I preferred chocolate malted crunch ice cream over regular chocolate, I wouldn’t be surprised if I received at least one complaint and a list of reasons why that shouldn’t be true. That I SHOULD enjoy chocolate ice cream. How dare I not like chocolate ice cream. What did it ever do to me? I obviously didn’t understand the flavor of the ice cream and that I should try it again, because I’m sure to like it.

Such was the case when discussing BBC’s Sherlock: The Abominable Bride. The post was actually in reference to the Emmy nomination, but the discussion had little to do with that. One fan said they didn’t like the episode. Such was his/her opinion.

What happened? Post after post stating that the individual should have liked. Why didn’t they like it? They obviously didn’t “get it”.

Seriously? Is that what fans of Sherlock Holmes resort to now? Yes, let’s fling insults because that works well when encouraging someone, right?

It rubbed me the wrong way. I think that’s obvious. 🙂

One of my closest friends hates Sherlock Holmes. Okay, maybe “hate” is a strong word. She just doesn’t enjoy that kind of writing or that kind of character. I don’t pester her about it. I don’t tease her about her love of young adult novels and some of the lame characters from the books she’s read.

Okay, maybe I do. But we’re friends, so we know we can push it without hurting each other.

But online I didn’t see that. What I saw in the end? Two posts where the individuals were “laughing” at the fact that the user blocked them. As if they’d “won” the argument.sherlock

I’d love to discuss Sherlock Holmes with my friend, but she doesn’t care for that. I’m not going to tell her that she’s just too stupid to “get” the character, the writing or the show. lol, that sounds bad. I’m not implying it, either!! ’cause she isn’t stupid. Why? She’s friends with me.  😛

I, personally, don’t have an opinion on this episode because I haven’t seen it yet. I’m not sure what I’m waiting for. Perhaps when series four is close at hand? But when I do watch it…if I say I like it or if I say I hate it, that’s my opinion. Please don’t diminish it, nullify it, negate it.

By the way, I don’t care for Robert Downey Jrs.’ Sherlock Holmes, but I enjoyed the films. I do like Jonny Lee Miller’s Sherlock Holmes. I also enjoy the chemistry of the cast from BBC’s Sherlock, but my absolute favorite Sherlock Holmes is a toss-up between Jeremy Brett (who was as close to Holmes as you could get from the stories) and Basil Rathbone.

sh

Now, if you don’t mind, I’m off to locate and watch the Sherlock Holmes television series starring my childhood crush, Peter Cushing. Yay!

One comment on “An Opinion? How dare you have one!

  1. ichabod2014ic
    September 21, 2016

    I am a big fan of Holmes in all mediums.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 19, 2016 by in Daily Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,357 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,082 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
