The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Hiking, Camping and More!

As if I’m not frazzled enough, between work, school, home, so on and more. My son decided he really wanted to join cub scouts. Though internally I screamed, “Not one more thing. I don’t have the time!” Outwardly, I celebrated his decision and helped get him started. Otherwise, I fear he’d be discouraged to participate because of concern for me.

Well, we’ve gone through one pack meeting and an outing: apple picking. I gotta say, I would never have taken my family apple picking. The drive alone was over an hour and a half. I have a feeling, now that he’s part of this group, we’ll be doing a lot of fun things together as a family. And despite that nagging voice that says it’ll be time-consuming and I’ll struggle to get other things done…honestly? I’m looking forward to helping me on his journey.

The apple picking was fun. We wandered the orchard in search of the best apples. That, alone, was a nice little hike and great exercise. They had a fun corn maze, so we had to do that. After that, we had delicious BBQ followed by the apple cider press. He’s seen it on TV, specifically Curious George, but it’s a totally different thing to actually do it. I was amused by his comments throughout the process. We’d only smashed the apples and he said we didn’t get enough. He’s eyes widened when the pressing started. I think he was surprised by how much juice came out of those little apples.

All in all, it was a nice day to spend together as a family. I look forward to our next adventure where we’ll learn BB gun shooting, archery and zip lining. Besides that, these camp outs seem to always include a hike.

The last hike I did was out in the woods, surrounded by pine trees. Just standing in the middle, the feel of the breeze, the sound of it as it rustled through the trees, at that time, it was even better than the sound of crashing waves at the beach.

Now who’s more excited about cub scouts? It’s a toss-up right now. I think we both are and I hope it stays that way. Now to find something equally as engaging for my daughter.

DP

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 19, 2016 by in Daily Prompt, Scouts and tagged , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,356 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,181 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
