The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Jinxed Myself

Recently, I’ve started going over the family finances. I’d found several websites that recommended the 50 /20 /30 approach. 50% of income should go to fixed expenses (aka bills, bleh). 20% should be invested and 30% should go to flexible spending. What would flexible spending include? According to one blogger, it would include entertainment, fast food/restaurants, but also groceries. We don’t have to buy brand named products. If the store has their own version, it might be cheaper, but just as good. Or, we could start using coupons.

Coupons are a pain. I’ll admit that right now. And I apologize to anyone that has had to wait in line behind me as I used them. But it has saved me at a minimum, 20% off my grocery bill, sometimes 50% off. That can make a difference if the grocery bill is initially high! Still….they are a pain. Probably ’cause of the rules. Buy 2 to save. Buy only this one, not that one. Anyway, I digress…

I’m obviously trying to find ways, some creative, to save money.

So why is it that when I start creating my budget, and I start the process of saving through coupons and other specials, that it “rains”. And by rains, I mean the car had problems that needed to be fixed (ugh), the electrical wiring on the house needs serious repairs (double ugh) and now my water heater won’t work (triple ugh).

Did I just jinx myself? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2016 by in Daily Ramblings, The Frugal Family and tagged , , , , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,354 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,316 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
