The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Benefit of Elevated Goals

The word of the day yesterday was lofty and while I could make a joke that’s way over your head, instead I will write about goals.

Have you ever set a goal for yourself so high, so…lofty, one might say, that it’s almost out of reach? I have.

One such goal I remember clearly. It was in Junior High for the jog-a-thon. The top prize was (yeah, I’m dating myself) a 6 CD changer! What?! I wanted that so bad. Long were the days when I had to switch out CDs. But if I could load 6 in one and with a click of the remote I could change from Beethoven to the Beatles?  You might laugh, but for me it was a lovely dream.

However, in order to win that top prize, I had to bring in the most money. Competing with hundreds of other kids, was that really a possibility for me? I tried anyway. I busted my butt, collected sponsors and ran more laps than anyone expected…and lightened several wallets that day to my delight and their dismay. I won the top prize!

So what’s the benefit of a lofty goal?

  • It motivates to finish
  • It increases performance
  • It encourages others to do the same
  • It stimulates creative solutions
  • It provides a huge sense of accomplishment, or
  • It gives the chance to revise, retry and reach

At the risk of being disheartened, I try to keep my expectations in check so as to I protect myself from that discouragement. Some may call that “pessimism”.

Regardless, if I never attempted setting lofty goals, would I even bother with the easily obtainable?

dp

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 14, 2016 by in Daily Prompt, Daily Ramblings and tagged , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,356 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,181 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
