The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Gotta Be Bored

20161114_082245-1

Word of the day is fish. With such a broad term, I floundered with the length of my post. So I scaled it back a bit. Thank you. Thank you very much.


I like to eat fish. (grin)

One of my favorite fish dishes is from the Summit House:

1/4 C roasted macadamia nuts, finely ground
1 C panko bread crumbs
1 t dillweed
2 T melted butter

INGREDIENTS LEMON BUTTER SAUCE

1 sprig fresh thyme
6 black peppercorns
1 shallot, diced
1 bay leaf
1/4 C white wine
1/4 C lemon juice
1/2 lb butter (room temperature)

METHOD PANKO MACADAMIA NUT CRUST

  • Combine all ingredients and set aside.

    METHOD LEMON BUTTER SAUCE

  • Sauté thyme, shallot, peppercorns and bay leaf with 1 tablespoon oil.
  • Add wine and lemon juice.
  • Reduce heat and add butter slowly, whisking constantly.
  • Strain sauce.
  • Add salt and pepper.

    METHOD JOHN DORY FILLETS

  • Lightly season and flour 2 six- to seven-ounce John Dory Filets
  • Sauté on both sides in oil.
  • Transfer to sheet pan and top with Panko Macadamia nut mixture.
  • Bake for 5-7 minutes at 350 degrees until topping is golden brown.
  • Serve on dinner plate and top with lemon butter sauce and chopped parsley.

At home, I don’t go into as much effort. I pat the fish (tilapia, usually) with a light coating of flour, followed by an egg/milk bath, then pressed with panko on either side. Since I don’t care for straight baked panko, I always fry each side to a golden brown, then bake it. It’s a quick dish to make for dinners at home. It might take me 30 minutes total from prep to bake to clean.


With the word fish, my mind started to wonder…as it always does. What do fish think about? Do they really think or do they just go through the routine day in and day out? I don’t expect dw-atlantiansthem to be critical thinkers, like Marlin. And I don’t imagine they’re aware of their predicament or forgetfulness, like Dory.

It must be so boring to be a fish.

In the Doctor Who episodes, The Underwater Menace…okay, maybe they weren’t exactly fish, but what would life be like as an Atlantean? For a landlubber, it sounds exciting to live underwater, able to explore the ocean depths. Then again, that’s no different from an astronaut. And I’m certainly not ever going to explore space. I guess at least fish from the ocean live unencumbered, at least as far as the confines of a tank are concerned.

So I Googled “are my fish bored”.

Turns out: yes, goldfish can get bored…at least according to the Internet. I didn’t realize Mythbusters sort of covered this topic. The idea that fish don’t have memories is questionable. But bored? I imagine any animal would get bored, but that might simply be me projecting. In order to avoid the feeling a guilt, my fish have a forest of plants and a mini Hank to swim around, not to mention a bubbling volcano. Surely they can appreciate at least the volcano.

 

dp

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 14, 2016 by in Daily Prompt, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,355 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,784 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
