The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

It’s Waning

Christmas is nearly here.

So why is it in one swift moment, my enthusiasm for the holiday is nearly dashed to pieces?

-Nearly hit by a car that was backing out of a parking spot.
-Chased down via car and cut off by the same driver.
-Cursed at by the individual that had almost hit me.

I was actually out getting a vanilla malt for my dad who’d just gone through surgery earlier that day. The situation bothered me. I was upset. I had my kid in the car and at one point was concerned for her safety because of the manic behavior of this person.

I think this was one of the lion’s den moments. Normally I have a temper. Friends and family can attest to that. But in this moment, I said nothing. I didn’t even offer eye contact. I simply parked and waited. Eventually, the driver took off (after cursing and throwing a derogatory term my way). Awesome. Yeah, Merry Christmas to you too.

With vanilla malt in the cup holder and my daughter safely in her seat, I drove to the hospital. And that’s when it really started to fester. My already self-negative thoughts began to magnify exponentially. I quelled that mini storm long enough to visit my dad. When I was back in my car and driving home, it’s like it all picked up where it had left off. And it didn’t stop.

I’m not a saint. I’m not a savior. Forgive me, but I can only take so much before I start asking “why”. Why bother saving this world or the people in it?

For me, this time of year isn’t about getting, but giving. Call me selfish, but I like the feeling I get when I give to others (not just during the holidays, but anytime during the year).

My question for all of you…

How does one get over such an event, move on and gain back any holiday enthusiasm?

8 comments on “It’s Waning

  1. Pingback: Enthusiasm Quotes and Sayings, Goodreads? No, WordPress Daily Prompt – Optimize Your WordPress Site!

  2. Rebecca LuElla Miller
    December 21, 2016

    Good question. I think start by looking at why someone would be such a jerk. It’s certainly not because he feels all is right with the world. He’s angry, maybe disappointed or lonely or feeling left out of all the Christmas joy. Could be a lot of things—he might even be mentally ill. But whatever the reason, he’s not in a good place. So in a sense, you can give to him by blessing him. The Bible actually tells us to bless those who curse us. It seems like the opposite of what we want and what would make us feel better, but in reality, as you said, giving makes you feel good, so in giving a blessing, you are not joining him in his angry state but you are remaining true to the fact that giving is what fulfills you.

    Becky

    Liked by 2 people

    • Elizabeth Los
      December 22, 2016

      So I’ve been falling into the same trap as everyone else. I assumed the driver was just being a jerk, rather than trying to give them the benefit of the doubt that maybe something else was going on. Thank you for the reminder that I really should bless others, no matter their reaction. You are a blessing to be. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. heart2go
    December 21, 2016

    Gratitude. When I hate the world I make myself list 10 things I am grateful for. Some days the list is not terribly inspiring – Diet Coke, yellow, socks that don’t fall down, running water….but often those lists, made through clenched teeth, release the power of my anger. My mind can again see light and a glimmer of joy. And I can then chose to turn away from the loud, dark, demanding negative force that just tried to swallow me whole.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Elizabeth Los
      December 22, 2016

      I’ll give that a try, though Diet Coke would not be on my list. 😉 Definitely chocolate. Thank you!

      Like

  4. Anonymous
    December 22, 2016

    Christmas music. Music soothes the soul.

    Like

  5. TAS
    December 22, 2016

    Have you ever watch fried green tomatoes? Are you older and have more insurance?

    Like

    • Elizabeth Los
      December 23, 2016

      I saw that when I was a lot younger, but I still thought it was funny. Especially Kathy Bates. I need to find it again for a good laugh!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 21, 2016 by in Daily Prompt, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,354 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,340 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
