The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Acceptance = Giving Up?

Today’s word is “acceptance“, which lead my thoughts to patients going on hospice. I recall during my friend’s years battling Stage IV colon cancer, the defeat, the hope, back to defeat, then a little hope again. Up and down like a roller coaster until all resources had been exhausted and there was very little left to try. I remember the medical oncologist recommended she go on hospice.

Now, years back, whenever I heard the word “hospice” my mind would automatically associate it with age. Maybe someone close to their nineties. Well, I say nineties now. I’m sure when I was a teen, it was more like thirties.  Seems to me the idea of “old age” gets pushed the older I become. lol

So when the physician told my 30ish year old friend to go on hospice, that didn’t go over well. By that point, I’d been working in the Oncology field long enough to know that hospice wasn’t necessarily a death sentence. It was a means to care for her quality of life while still treating the disease. It was acceptance of the situation, but it wasn’t giving up. Still, when you’re in the middle of it, the word sounds like giving up.

What is acceptance for you?

“It is what it is.”

Something our real estate agent used to say. We joke and use the same phrase. But though I might temporarily consent to what my situation is at the moment, that I accept it, it doesn’t mean that I’ve given up entirely. Rather, it gives me a moment to reflect, regroup and try again.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 22, 2017 by in Daily Prompt, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,363 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 10,247 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
