The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Review: The Recipe Hacker Confidential by Diana Keuilian

The Recipe Hacker Confidential

by Diana Keuilian

Unlock the secret to cooking mouthwatering and nutritious meals—without giving up your favorite dishes!

In today’s era of rampant food allergies, gluten-free popularity, and the rise of paleo eating, putting together a meal that will satisfy everyone at your table is easier said than done. With Diana Keuilian’s unique approach for “hacking” recipes, however, you’ll learn how to easily recreate beloved, traditional comfort foods without the grains, gluten, dairy, soy, or cane sugar.

The long-awaited follow-up to The Recipe Hacker, The Recipe Hacker Confidential is bursting with more than 100 new recipes and stunning photos that will tantalize your taste buds while trimming your waist, with lighter versions of your favorite recipes such as:

– Breakfast Pizza, Sweet Potato Mini Muffins
– Butternut Squash Spaghetti
– Easy Teriyaki Chicken, Maple Bacon-Wrapped Salmon
– Real Healthy Snickers Bars
– Cookie Dough Bonbons

Keuilian spills all her secrets on how to hack these recipes—and many more—while preserving the flavor, presentation, and enjoyability of each sumptuous dish. She also shares stories and musings throughout the book that will inspire, encourage, motivate, and propel you toward weight loss, better health, and culinary happiness.

 

 

 

 

 


On occasion, I like to check out recipe books. Sometimes it’s fun to try something new. The Recipe Hacker Confidential is more than just the standard cookbook. It’s a means to hack the traditional recipes we’ve grown up with and turn them into something we can still use and love. Several of my friends and family are on special diets from the Whole 30 to diets specific to a diagnoses, like diabetes or high cholesterol.

While the recipes look good on paper, I can’t attest to their taste. Since reading through the book, I’ve purchased almond flour (a common ingredient throughout). I’m hoping to find a moment and give one of these recipes a try. If it’s anything like my tofu enchilada casserole, we shouldn’t really notice a difference. And if you’re wondering why I used tofu, let me explain. I’d taken a nutrition class in college. One of the assignments was to take a recipe and make it healthy, or at least a little more healthy that the traditional dish. I learned that if I froze a block of tofu, thawed it, froze it once more, I could then chopped it up into pieces and the consistency/texture would be a lot like chicken. For me, that’s a big thing. I can’t get past the slimy texture of tomatoes, so I avoid them unless they are buried deep where I won’t notice them.

I chopped up the tofu and basically made chicken enchilada casserole, but with tofu as the substitute. I also used a lower calorie cheese, sauce, etc. The results? A delicious meal that even my father, the pickiest eater in our family, didn’t even notice. He really thought he was eating chicken because the tofu was so good at soaking in all of the flavors and sauce of the casserole.

I’m basically hoping the recipes in this book will turn out the same. But I need to try at least one. For now, I’ll give this a good review, because the recipes are clever in their substitutions. But again, I can’t say anything about the taste. To be continued…

Disclosure: I received a free ebook in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2017 by in Books, Daily Ramblings, Reviews and tagged , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,356 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,630 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
