The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Review of Lady Mechanika: The Lost Boys of West Abbey

Lady Mechanika

The Lost Boys of West Abbey

V.3 by Marcia Chen

Lady Mechanika’s investigation into the murders of “undesirable” children in Mechanika City triggers an unexpected reaction from her subconscious self. But are they truly lost memories finally surfacing after so many years, or just simple nightmares? And what connection does the killer have to Lady Mechanika’s past? Collects the complete third Lady Mechanika mini-series, The Lost Boys of West Abbey, including extra pages which were not published in the original comic books.


What initially drew me to this book was the cover. I knew nothing of Lady Mechanika. I mean, I could have guessed by her name, but other than that, I knew very little. The cover, rightly so, gave me the impression of a steampunk world. The title? Hopefully a good mystery. I wasn’t disappointed. I enjoyed both the artwork and the story. I really did enjoy the imagery. And the steampunk element reminded me of another book I’d read a few years back: For The Love Of Temperance.

Orphans, boys living on the streets, etc. were reported as missing. But wouldn’t it be the perfect crime for a killer? To use these boys, children unwanted, unloved and definitely not missed by most. So when boys started going missing, the police had done little to investigate, save for one. Teaming up with Lady Mechanika, who’d already been poking around on her own, the two discover a horrifying plot. Could this also be the answer to her lost memories and how she came to be the way she is now?

If you enjoy steampunk, mysteries and a little bit of thrills, suspense and horror, you’ll enjoy this read. Now I’ll have to go back and find her others stories.

I received a free electronic copy in exchange for an honest review.

One comment on “Review of Lady Mechanika: The Lost Boys of West Abbey

  1. ichabod2014ic
    May 15, 2017

    Eek! Oh my Goodness! I did not expect to see myself mentioned when I clicked on this review and began reading! Thanks, Miss consulting Writer!

    The world of Lady Mechanika looks like fun. I love the artwork!

    Happy Reading!
    Your pal,
    ~Icky. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2017 by in Books, Daily Ramblings, Reviews and tagged , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,356 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,181 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
