The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Due Tomorrow. I’m sorry…what?!

Qualm – an uneasy feeling of doubt, worry, or fear, especially about one’s own conduct; a misgiving. (so….every day life then)

Should be the definition of “Mom”? Because there are days, too often, that I doubt my abilities or worry I’m not a perfect mother…or human being for that matter. I may not have a chronic issue with anxiety, but I’ve been there. Like on a plane as the pilot cuts back on the engines to bring the nose down during the ascent? That sick feeling in the pit of my stomach? Ugh. It hits you at the most inopportune times. That’s when I whine, “I don’t have time for this!” I may not be referring to the crisis, but rather that uneasy feeling and worry welling up inside.

“Mom, I need to make a hat with stuff representing the state. It’s due tomorrow. It needs to have the state flag, animal, flower, industry, nickname, map, seal…” My ears go numb by this point.

*sigh*

I don’t mind working with a deadline. And in a pinch, you’ll see me jumping in to lend a hand or solve the problem. I’m a cancer registrar, so that’s kinda what I’ve gotten used to. I need the follow-up percentage to go from 70& to 90%? No problem.

Wait…in a week?? (internal sigh and screaming) Ugh. I’m on it.

Still, those “curve balls” in life can get old really quick.

I’d recently felt like that when fixing things around the house. Do you ever have those days? It’s as if they all wait to break down at once…one thing after another. Either it’s the same project and bit by bit you have to fix it because different things break or get out of hand. Or you accomplish one thing, finish one big project….hurrah! Only to feel your heart sink deep down when you see the thousand (or in my mind, a million) other things waiting for you.

I see anxiety and situations that cause me worry similar to removing a band-aide.  I’d rather get it over with, rip it off quick. Sure, it stings initially. It takes courage to just do it. But then it’s over. The worry subsides, the situation is taken care of.

Take a deep breath, say a prayer (or 20 of them) and dive in.

Qualm

Qualm

Night Chorus

Qualm Down For A Moment

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2017 by in Daily Prompt, Daily Ramblings and tagged , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,354 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,319 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
